AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
parkscad
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-12-2006
Message 1 of 9 (1,406 Views)

AEC_CONTOUR to polyline conversion

1406 Views, 8 Replies
10-24-2008 02:47 PM
I am using Civil 3D 2009 for editing contours on a old drawing done in Land Desktop or possibly even R14. The contours objects are all AEC_CONTOURS, and I want to convert them to 2D polylines with elevations. In previous versions I remember doing this conversion by simply exploding these objects. I cannot find a way to convert them with this version. I downloaded the Object Enabler, still no luck. Any suggestions?
Thanks
Valued Contributor
mcarris1
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎01-04-2007
Message 2 of 9 (1,406 Views)

Re: AEC_CONTOUR to polyline conversion

10-24-2008 03:26 PM in reply to: parkscad
You should still be able to just explode them to polylines, You may have to explode them twice. Or are they showing up as squares and not contour lines in Civil 3D?

They will generate a ton of vertices, so I would recommend using the Map Drawing Cleanup Tools to reduce the extra vertices.
Member
parkscad
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-12-2006
Message 3 of 9 (1,406 Views)

Re: AEC_CONTOUR to polyline conversion

10-29-2008 01:41 PM in reply to: parkscad
The AEC_CONTOURs look like contour lines but will not explode, no matter how many times I try, the message simply says "cannot explode AEC_CONTOUR. I cannot move or copy these objects, the only command I can find that works on them is ERASE. Only way I have found to deal with this so far is to trace the AEC_CONTOUR with a 2D polyline (which is a pain, as O-Snaps don't work on these objects, either).
Distinguished Contributor
jbokic
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎10-03-2007
Message 4 of 9 (1,406 Views)

Re: AEC_CONTOUR to polyline conversion

10-30-2008 12:14 PM in reply to: parkscad
Will they convert to polylines if you try exporting them to a regular Autocad file from within Civil 3D? (File pulldown -> Export -> Export to Autocad... -> your choice)
Member
parkscad
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-12-2006
Message 5 of 9 (1,406 Views)

Re: AEC_CONTOUR to polyline conversion

11-03-2008 09:05 AM in reply to: parkscad
When I export I get message "Could not instantiate Aec Dict". A file was created but the Aec Contour objects are unchanged.
Thanks
New Member
olp3matt
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Message 6 of 9 (1,406 Views)

Re: AEC_CONTOUR to polyline conversion

01-19-2009 07:01 AM in reply to: parkscad
did you ever find an answer to this? i'm having the same problem.
thanks.
Contributor
mjohnston
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 7 of 9 (1,406 Views)

Re: AEC_CONTOUR to polyline conversion

02-27-2009 12:36 PM in reply to: parkscad
This probably isn't overly helpful, but I was given a drawing with contour lines of the type "AECC_Contour" and a single explode function worked like a charm in Civil 3D 2009 to convert them to 2D polys w/ elevation. I then converted to 3D and added them to a new model as breaklines.

-Mark
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,784
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 9 (1,406 Views)

Re: AEC_CONTOUR to polyline conversion

03-02-2009 07:33 AM in reply to: parkscad
Looks like this will be an option in 2010.
Distinguished Contributor
DaveDrahn
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎01-13-2003
Message 9 of 9 (1,406 Views)

Re: AEC_CONTOUR to polyline conversion

04-09-2009 06:27 PM in reply to: parkscad
I just had to do this and found you have to open it in "AutoCAD Civil 3D Land Desktop Companion". (I'm using 2008)

The EXPLODE works fine. Whattafrigginhasslethough.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs