Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A Very New User and Non Linear Projects

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
LongSticks
259 Views, 3 Replies

A Very New User and Non Linear Projects

Hi everybody.

Im a long  time AC User in both 2d and 3d, but new to Civil 3d.

I'm a freelance civil engineer who now works as a tender/contract Planner for regional and surfacing civil engineering companies. Im exploring BiM for this Civil Engineering market place.

I have succesfully created my first 4d Navisworks model using a combination of Sketch up and AC 2013 to form the 3d model, but it is really only pictorial and needs to be positionally correct to move from Tender to Contract, if we were successful. But everybody is impressed as a tender validation tool.

One of the problems I have in this market place is that it is rare to get 3d information at tender from the Client or Clients designer, so everything pretty much has to be digitised.

I have tried Civil 3d and it is fine as a designers tool/large new carriageway project and even from using the tutorials i could remodel this data to produce a 4d file. By the way I do have many years using DTM standards like Leica, LSS, NRG and some time using MX Road.

My question is how to set about using Civil 3d on non linear projects such as new Town Squares and Dock Side works. Unfortunately my opertunities to play with carriageway new builds are few and far between.

As a for instance I have added 2 shots from a recent Dock Side Tender. 70m wide x 440m long. Construction comprises 5 different pavement constructions transversly and 5 zones longitudinally, with concrete edge thickening etc between pavement types running longitudinally and transversly.