AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎08-17-2009
Message 1 of 9 (133 Views)
Accepted Solution

3d Boudary

133 Views, 8 Replies
06-18-2013 07:31 AM

is there an option or a lisp routine to create a 3d boundary from closed 3d polylines?

Employee
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 2 of 9 (129 Views)

Re: 3d Boudary

06-18-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: nikoue

LINEWORKSHRINKWRAP will create a boundary from a group of closed polylines. It will be flat. The problem I see with making a 3D polyline would be: what happens when lines cross. What elevation would be used for the vertex?

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎08-17-2009
Message 3 of 9 (116 Views)

Re: 3d Boudary

06-18-2013 08:15 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

I export a civil 3d surface in autocad. Then i convert the 3dfaces to 3dpolylines.

I want to make a boundary using some of these 3dpolys.(i set another layer for pave, gutter and slopes and i want a boundary around of each set)

I try also the bpoly command to create a 2d poly. I explode the 3d polylines to lines and i set all z to 0. But the bpoly command make autocad to crash.

So i need something to work like bpoly but not crash, and if its possible better something to create a 3dpoly from surface 3dpolys.

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,427
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 9 (112 Views)

Re: 3d Boudary

06-18-2013 08:30 AM in reply to: nikoue

If you have the C3D surfaces use shrinkwrap as Peter suggests and the use the Elevations from Surface command which has a Multiple object selection option on the pline(s). You will be left with 3dpolys.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,427
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 9 (111 Views)

Re: 3d Boudary

06-18-2013 08:32 AM in reply to: jmayo

I need to slow down my typing.

 

If you have the C3D surfaces use shrinkwrap as Peter suggests and then use the Elevations from Surface command (which has a Multiple object selection option) on the pline(s). You will be left with 3dpolys

 

That should be a bit easier to read.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎08-17-2009
Message 6 of 9 (95 Views)

Re: 3d Boudary

06-18-2013 09:44 AM in reply to: jmayo

thank you for your answer.

i m close to do what i want.

in a close loop of triangles it create an outside boundary?

Is there an option to create an inside boundary?

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,427
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 9 (82 Views)

Re: 3d Boudary

06-18-2013 11:06 AM in reply to: nikoue

Copy and convert the inner bounding 3d faces to regions by typing _.region into the command prompt. Select one region and right-click. Choose Select Similar and then type flatten into the command prompt. Now type bo into the command prompt and, because you have lines at constant Z, a 2d boundary can be created. Now apply step one from above to get 3d poly.

 

... 

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎08-17-2009
Message 8 of 9 (69 Views)

Re: 3d Boudary

06-18-2013 02:34 PM in reply to: nikoue

thank you very much

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎08-17-2009
Message 9 of 9 (67 Views)

Re: 3d Boudary

06-18-2013 02:37 PM in reply to: nikoue

may i ask you something else?

Is there an option to export for a corridor surface triangles in different layer or color for eatch component e.g different for pave different for slopes etc?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs