AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
rkk_engineer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2010
Message 1 of 7 (548 Views)

3D Curve

548 Views, 6 Replies
11-03-2010 06:20 AM

How do I draw a 3-d curve in Civil 3D?  I have a curved alignment that has a horizontal curve and is also curved in the vertical direction.  I'm not sure how to draw this.  Can somebody help me?  Thank you

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 2 of 7 (532 Views)

Re: 3D Curve

11-03-2010 08:25 AM in reply to: rkk_engineer

If you're using Alignments, the vertical is defined using a Profile.

 

You can also use Feature Lines, which are a bit like a "light-weight Alignment", but those cannot have vertical curves.  A Feature Line can have a true horizontal curve, but as opposed to a Profile, a Feature Line can only straight-grade from grade break to grade break.

 

By contrast, a 3D Polyline cannot have curves in either horizontal or vertical directions, and all curves must be approximated using a series of short line segments.

Sinc
Mentor
civilspace
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 3 of 7 (527 Views)

Re: 3D Curve

11-03-2010 08:32 AM in reply to: rkk_engineer

*if* you needed a literal 3D curve, Sinc is right, you would need to approximate it using a series of segments.  The best way would be an alignment for the horizontal, profile for vertical, subassembly, corridor with a high frequency, extract a feature line from that.  

Regards,
Anthony
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,715
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 7 (523 Views)

Re: 3D Curve

11-03-2010 08:41 AM in reply to: rkk_engineer

You can have a 3D curve, but it can't be an alignment/profile combination.  For example, you would create a feature line that is curved, you would have different elevations at each end of that curve...there is your 3d curve.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Distinguished Mentor
OMCUSNR
Posts: 506
Registered: ‎04-28-2010
Message 5 of 7 (516 Views)

Re: 3D Curve

11-03-2010 09:25 AM in reply to: rkk_engineer

I'm thinking you'll need to run a cooridor, create a surface, then view it in 3d view.  You'd be able to see the resulting centerline that way.

 

 

Homebuilt box: I5-2500k, MSI P67A-GD65, 12gig DDR3 1600 ram, ASUS ENGTX460 Video card, WD Velociraptor WD4500HLHX HD, Win 7 64 pro.
Mentor
civilspace
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 6 of 7 (512 Views)

Re: 3D Curve

11-03-2010 09:30 AM in reply to: OMCUSNR

I love it - 4 people saying the same thing.

Regards,
Anthony
New Member
rkk_engineer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2010
Message 7 of 7 (471 Views)

Re: 3D Curve

11-04-2010 04:27 AM in reply to: civilspace

thanks for your input

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs