AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 685
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 1 of 23 (1,760 Views)
Accepted Solution

2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

1760 Views, 22 Replies
12-20-2012 11:04 AM

Ok, I'm stumped. I am using the Dynamic North arrow that is linked to the viewport. It doesn't matter if I use an OOTB block or a custom one they all have a rotation of 355.4016. 

The viewport is type "Plan", Dview twist is set to "0", USC is World.

If I change the rotation on the block it rotates the viewport (as expected).

 

The default block is not rotated. Any suggestions?

 

BTW, It works fin in the default NCS, so it's something in my template.

 

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
C3D 2014 (SP1)
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
*Pro
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 2 of 23 (1,756 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 11:19 AM in reply to: klugb

sorry,  I don't have an answer to your question, but your screen shot raised a question for me.   My C3D 2013 installation doesn't have a design workspace nor do i have a layout tab on any of my workspaces.

 

Are you using some kind of country kit?   Or does sp1 add the workspace?

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 685
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 3 of 23 (1,746 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 12:13 PM in reply to: dgordon

Check the image and see if that's the problem with the tabs?

 

The "Design" workspace is a save as copy of the "Civil 3D" one. Co-workers here have a tendency to "modify" their workspace (usually destroy beyond repair) so I set the copy as our default. If anything happens to it we still have the Civil 3D one intact. Just cheap insurance :smileyhappy:

 

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
C3D 2014 (SP1)
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
*Pro
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 4 of 23 (1,728 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 12:39 PM in reply to: klugb

is the layout tab a customization also?

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 685
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 5 of 23 (1,699 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 03:18 PM in reply to: klugb

Nope, didn't create anything for it.

 

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
C3D 2014 (SP1)
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 6 of 23 (1,695 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 03:23 PM in reply to: dgordon

The layout tab appears when you are in a layout (paperspace) instead of the model tab.

Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 7 of 23 (1,691 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 03:43 PM in reply to: klugb

If you select the dynamic north arrow, there's a small partially transparent icon with a wrench and a dropdown arrow. Select that icon and choose Link to viewport. Select the viewport and see if the north arrow updates with the viewport now.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 685
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 8 of 23 (1,686 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 03:52 PM in reply to: C3D_TomR

Nope, Tried that.  I though It was fixed with the reset..... until I realized it rotated the viewport :smileyindifferent:

 

I attached a test file if anyone want to take a shot at it?

 

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
C3D 2014 (SP1)
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 9 of 23 (1,683 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 04:13 PM in reply to: klugb

It may have something to do with the viewport in the drawing. I can't change the scale of the viewport from the properties palette dropdown list. I created a new viewport in the drawing and associated the north arrow to that viewport and it works fine.

Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 10 of 23 (1,681 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 04:16 PM in reply to: C3D_TomR

Actually, once I created the new viewport and associated the north arrow to the new viewport I can now make changes to the original viewport. I reassociated the north arrow to the original viewport and it seems to be working fine now.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs