AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 11 of 23 (1,679 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 04:31 PM in reply to: C3D_TomR

I can duplicate the issue. It has to do with the Drawing Settings, Units and Zone, Zone, Categories. If this setting is No Datum, No Projection, then North is North. The drawing you posted is set to USA, Washington (WA83-SF). I think the dynamic north arrow is maybe trying to account for declination or something like that.

*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 12 of 23 (1,672 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 04:49 PM in reply to: C3D_TomR

Interesting, Looks promising, I can link one in the standard NCS and it's fine, Set the zone for us (SW Washington State) link a new one and there is my rotation. I had already set it off to Autodesk so I'll have to update the case. 

I'll keep you posted here.

 

Thanks for the help.

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP1)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 13 of 23 (1,671 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 04:53 PM in reply to: C3D_TomR

It only appears to read the Zone setting when the north arrow is associated with a viewport. Changing the Zone after the association doesn't affect the north arrow. To see what I'm describing, try these scenarios:

 

Remove all Dynamic North Arrows from the drawing and setup mulitple viewports with no twist, USC to world, etc.

 

  • Set Zone Category to No, Datum, No Projection and place a Dynamic North Arrow associated to viewport 1.
  • Now change the Selected coordinate system code to WAHP-SF and place a second Dynamic North Arrow in the drawing then move it to the same location as the first one except select the second viewport for the association. You'll see that the rotation is different.
  • Now change the Selected coordinate system code to TX83-SF and place a third Dynamic North Arrow in the drawing then move it to the exact same location as the first one except select the third viewport for the association. You'll see that the rotation is again different from either of the other two north arrows.

Saving and opening the drawing doesn't change the rotation of the north arrows but changing the dview twist in the viewport will reset the "adjustment factor" to whatever coordinate system is current.

 

After several of these iterations I tried to change the scale of the viewport and I couldn't until I moved the north arrows so that they no longer overlapped each other. I think that's a separate issue from what you're seeing though.

Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 14 of 23 (1,670 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 05:02 PM in reply to: klugb

Thanks! I notified @AutodeskCare on Twitter so they can follow the discussion as well.

Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 15 of 23 (1,662 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 07:03 PM in reply to: klugb

Bruce,

 

Since I know that others will be experiencing this issue too, I posted a blog on it with a little more detail and pics. I think the rotation is true north and grid north, not magnetic declination.

 

http://crossing-the-line-with-c3d.blogspot.com/2012/12/which-way-is-north.html

*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 16 of 23 (1,656 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 07:16 PM in reply to: C3D_TomR

Tom,

 

Thank you for the quick response and great blog link. If Autodesk has anything to add with my service request I will be sure to add it. I marked it "accepted solution" but we really need an "accepted workaround", but that's for a different forum :smileywink:

 

Thanks again

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP1)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 17 of 23 (1,651 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 07:25 PM in reply to: klugb

Thanks, Bruce. I'm glad I could help.

Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 18 of 23 (1,645 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-20-2012 09:07 PM in reply to: klugb

Bruce,

 

As you requested, a solution has been found. I added the info as an upate at the bottom of the blog post.

 

In modelspace, execute the GEOGRAPHICLOCATION command and choose REMOVE THE GEOGRAPHICLOCATION. Do this in your template and that should take care of the dynamic north arrow rotation issue.

*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 19 of 23 (1,629 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-21-2012 08:55 AM in reply to: C3D_TomR

Just to make sure I understand, this command just strips the coordinate system out of the template right?

Won't that cause a problem moving forward with any drawing that I get with a different coordinate system assigned? I thought that C3D was using this to automatically adjust and data attached?

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP1)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 20 of 23 (1,618 Views)

Re: 2013 Dynamic North Arrow Rotation Issue

12-21-2012 01:05 PM in reply to: klugb

Here's some information about the Geographic Location in a Drawing.

 

http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2013/ENU/index.html?url=files/GUID-47B2082F-204E-499A-99AD-96DC2BA3738F...

 

It appears to be an AutoCAD setting used for sun studies, environment analysis, exporting to AutoCAD Map 3D, and working with Google Earth. Since this settings is available in Vanilla AutoCAD, then it doesn't appear to control the Map/Civil 3D coordinate system settings, The Map/Civil 3D coordinate system settings WILL control the geographic location. When you assign a coordinate system to a drawing, the geographic location gets set based on the coordinate system selected. Setting the coordinate system back to No Datum, No Projection doesn't remove the geographic location, it just resets it to the equivalent of "0" for the adjustment factor.

 

I worked with it some more and got some interesting results. I set the coordinate system to No Datum, No Projection, removed the geo location, and placed the north arrow. All is good. Then I reset the coordinate system to tx83-cf. The north arrow is still good. Next I rotated an existing polyline in paperspace 45 degrees. The north arrow then applied the "rotation factor" based on the newly assigned coordinate system.

 

Based on these findings, I will be using the dynamic north arrow only in drawings that have the coordinate system set to No Datum, No Projection and the geographic location removed. For plotting, I will xref the base drawing into a separate sheet drawing so that the north arrow won't be assoicated with any coordinate system or geographic location.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs