AutoCAD Civil 3D Customization

Reply
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 811
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 1 of 12 (272 Views)

what it takes to upgrade vb.net project to 2012, any surprises?

272 Views, 11 Replies
02-24-2012 02:33 PM

so for this year same as before just open the project and specify a new search folder path for all the com and .net dlls from autodesk then change the application class whatever to 9.0? anything else that maybe tricky like one of the other year if i remember right.

 

just asking this so to be sure and carry on with upgrading later tonight.

 

oh, also for 2012 is it possible to ditch all com and move to .net? is it as good as autocad .net exposure now? look forward to that.

 

still no multicore support i guess. render my new computer quite useless compared to core 2 even. got more than 13pt on cinebench doesn't mean much when comes to civil 3d.

 

thank you.

Civil 3D 2012
Work: Xeon W3503, 12GB, Quadro 2000, Yamakasi Sparta 301 + Dell PH2211
Home: 3930k, 12GB, GTX 590, U3011, QX2710
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,202
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 12 (263 Views)

Re: what it takes to upgrade vb.net project to 2012, any surprises?

02-24-2012 04:36 PM in reply to: wang890

Moving to 2012 is pretty much as you describe. If you are using VS2010, I believe you can complie for .NET4.0. If using VS2008 and want to Debug in 2012, there are some things you need to do....I think Kean Walmsley outlined this shortly after the 2012 release.

 

No, not fully ported to .NET so COM is still needed....but, it is getting better. Especially Surfaces for 2012.

 

 

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,202
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 12 (256 Views)

Re: what it takes to upgrade vb.net project to 2012, any surprises?

02-25-2012 07:37 AM in reply to: wang890

Oh, there was one big issue....not sure if they corrected the SP1 download, but after installing SP1 for C3D2012 the COM references were no longer able to be located. I was sent a REG file to install which fixed this, so if you run into this issue, just let me know and I'll get that REG file to you. (A search back in this forum to around the time the SP was released will give you all the details.)

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 811
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 4 of 12 (251 Views)

Re: what it takes to upgrade vb.net project to 2012, any surprises?

02-25-2012 10:59 AM in reply to: wang890

hey Jeff

 

i got it upgraded ok but can't debug. says

 

no symbols are loaded for any call stack frame. the source code cannot be displayed

 

to investigate further

 

browse to find source

 

also still says can't debug in x64. should i set project to x64 not any cpu?

 

thanks

 

Bob

Civil 3D 2012
Work: Xeon W3503, 12GB, Quadro 2000, Yamakasi Sparta 301 + Dell PH2211
Home: 3930k, 12GB, GTX 590, U3011, QX2710
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,893
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 12 (247 Views)

Re: what it takes to upgrade vb.net project to 2012, any surprises?

02-25-2012 11:06 AM in reply to: wang890

Hi,

 

I'm not Jeff, but I'm here at the moment :smileywink:

 

If you upgrade your projects to 2012 you should also change the Framework to 4.0, look to Jeff's post 2 of 4 in this thread.

As long as you haven't changed (or did some tricks with acad.exe.config) you have no chance to get it into the debugger to stop at breakpoints.

 

>> also still says can't debug in x64

Is that the exact message? Or does VS tell you "you can't EDIT in 64bit mode"?

If the message is "you can't edit" than it's a fact of VS2010 and 64bit ... there is no chance to edit-while-debug. Sorry.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,202
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 12 (247 Views)

Re: what it takes to upgrade vb.net project to 2012, any surprises?

02-25-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: wang890

No, leave it set at AnyCPU. You should be able to step through using Debug, but you will not be able use Edit and Continue....that is an issue that you'd have to take up with Microsoft, no one can use edit & continue in a 64bit app. (The app in this case is Autocad, not your dll).

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 811
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 7 of 12 (242 Views)

Re: what it takes to upgrade vb.net project to 2012, any surprises?

02-25-2012 12:08 PM in reply to: wang890

hi Alfred

thanks for replying.

 

this is what i get. but somehow when step out it will to through the command method sub which is a different class file.

 

i set 4.0 yesterday after seeing that message right away but didn't make any difference. no edit is fine i am used to it already. but somehow on microsoft if you search debug x64 class library they said oh just change the cpu or something then should work. i guess not for autodesk .net stuff.

Civil 3D 2012
Work: Xeon W3503, 12GB, Quadro 2000, Yamakasi Sparta 301 + Dell PH2211
Home: 3930k, 12GB, GTX 590, U3011, QX2710
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,202
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 8 of 12 (237 Views)

Re: what it takes to upgrade vb.net project to 2012, any surprises?

02-25-2012 12:24 PM in reply to: wang890

Read Kean's blog about this....FIBERWORLD that should get you up and running. I'd forgotten about this...

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,893
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 9 of 12 (236 Views)

Re: what it takes to upgrade vb.net project to 2012, any surprises?

02-25-2012 12:28 PM in reply to: wang890

Hi,

 

>> this is what i get

What I can imagine then (and you look into) is:

  • could it be that you have startet AutoCAD but have not NETLOADed your DLL yet (or is the assembly not loaded yet?
  • have you set your project to RELEASE- instead of DEBUG-mode?
  • and within VS: menu "Tools" ==> "Options" ==> group "Debugging" - "General": is the option "Enable just my code" checked?

Just found: also Kean Walmsley has a blog in this: <<<here>>>

 

[EDIT] OK, Jeff is the faster one :smileywink: [/EDIT]

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 811
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 10 of 12 (206 Views)

Re: what it takes to upgrade vb.net project to 2012, any surprises?

03-02-2012 01:50 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

ok. apparently some old school dude is using windows xp 32bit and said my program doesn't work. got the following messages.

 

so what it takes to make this work for windows xp 32bit? i was thinking about .net 4.0 not installed but then when you install c3d 2012 it will install all those.

 

rename .doc to docx if can't see. interesting. using word 2010 but xp 32? lol.

Civil 3D 2012
Work: Xeon W3503, 12GB, Quadro 2000, Yamakasi Sparta 301 + Dell PH2211
Home: 3930k, 12GB, GTX 590, U3011, QX2710

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs