AutoCAD Civil 3D Customization

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Civil3DReminders.com
Posts: 2,434
Registered: ‎10-13-2005
Message 1 of 6 (268 Views)

Survey Points

268 Views, 5 Replies
08-28-2012 08:48 AM

I'm looking to change an elevation of a survey point within a drawing. I can see where it is possible to manually unlock the points from the Survey Database to allow the user to edit the point. I'm not seeing a method or property in the API Help for 2013 to do the unlocking with code. Is this possible?

 

Also is it possible to convert a Survey Point to a regular Cogo Point through the code? Or do I have to delte the point and then recreate it as a COGO point? I think this will be my work around if the above doesn't work.


Thanks,

 

Christopher

Civil Reminders
http://blog.civil3dreminders.com/
http://www.CivilReminders.com/
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎01-08-2008
Message 2 of 6 (241 Views)

Re: Survey Points

09-03-2012 09:55 AM in reply to: Civil3DReminders.com

The best way to change the elevation of a survey point is via the survey command language. Go to your survey toolspace and right click on you survey network.  Then select survey command.

 

 The command is MOD EL (point number) (elevation) such as MOD EL 100 6.453

 

Nicholas, Messina Jr.
ADN Support Specialist
Posts: 542
Registered: ‎06-09-2009
Message 3 of 6 (230 Views)

Re: Survey Points

09-03-2012 11:08 PM in reply to: Civil3DReminders.com

Hi Chris,

 

At the moment very limited Survey features are exposed through .NET API and I don't see any API which can unlock and let you update properties of a Survey Point. Looking into COM API help, I find we can access / read the elevation; IAeccSurveyPoint:: Elevation Property -> Gets the elevation value of the Point.

 

We can use IAeccSurveyNetwork:: AddPointsToDrawing Method which Adds the Points in the Network to the drawing, but it seems adding all the points in a specific network.


Thanks,



Partha Sarkar
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network

*Expert Elite*
Civil3DReminders.com
Posts: 2,434
Registered: ‎10-13-2005
Message 4 of 6 (221 Views)

Re: Survey Points

09-04-2012 09:55 PM in reply to: Partha.Sarkar

One can also access the point information as a CogoPoint, but if the point is a survey point the point changing the elevation doesn't work.

 

Thanks,

 

Christopher

Civil Reminders
http://blog.civil3dreminders.com/
http://www.CivilReminders.com/
ADN Support Specialist
Posts: 542
Registered: ‎06-09-2009
Message 5 of 6 (212 Views)

Re: Survey Points

09-05-2012 09:50 PM in reply to: Civil3DReminders.com

Did you try the suggestion made by Nicholas on using the survey command language and the MOD EL command ? I can log a wish list for this feature in .NET API when we expose the Survey functionalities in the coming days.

 

Thanks,



Partha Sarkar
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network

*Expert Elite*
Civil3DReminders.com
Posts: 2,434
Registered: ‎10-13-2005
Message 6 of 6 (206 Views)

Re: Survey Points

09-06-2012 07:37 AM in reply to: Partha.Sarkar

No, I'm not looking for a UI solution to the problem. This isn't a mission critical feature. It just would have been nice if the user could modify the data for the cross sections and then if they needed to start over have the changes they made to the profiles reflected in the original survey points. I'm not really interested in going all the way back into the survey database to make sure it's open and set to the correct database. It would be nice if the point had the information and the API went back and did most of the work. 

 

Christopher

Civil Reminders
http://blog.civil3dreminders.com/
http://www.CivilReminders.com/

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs