AutoCAD Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Role of AutoCAD in today's job market.

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
2010 Views, 9 Replies

Role of AutoCAD in today's job market.

Also cross posted to AutoDesk Inventor, Civil 3D and Architecture.

Subject line says it all.

I would like to find out if vanilla AutoCAD still has relevance in today's
job market. I'm a semi-retired Registered Civil Engineer and Licensed Land
Surveyor. Currently I am assisting at our local high school teaching,
AutoCAD 2009, Civil 3D 2009, Revit Architecture 2009, Inventor Pro 2009 and
Studio 3D Max, Mechanical 2009

With the rich vertical applications available (last five programs above) why
are we still teaching vanilla AutoCAD? Ten years ago (back in the world of
2D), I would readily hire an architectural draftsman and convert him into a
productive Civil Engr. draftsman within a week. I've had civil and surveyor
Cad operators switch to 2D architectural drafting with no problems. Lots of
mobility available.

Today, an employee well versed in Revit Architecture 2009, would be totally
useless running Civil 3D 2009. The reverse is also true. These vertical
programs are so specialized that the skills aren't directly transferable,
except the visualization and common sense skills.

So, is vanilla AutoCAD going to go the route of the drafting boards? Are we
wasting our time teaching it? Or, is it a good entry program that still has
some commercial benefits.

PLEASE, send my your thoughts and ideas. I would like to tailor our
education programs to best fit the needs of today's (and tomorrow's)
employer.

Thanks

Ivan Vegvary
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
jmcintyre
in reply to: Anonymous

My 2 cents-