AutoCAD Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Project navigator training

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Oilymo
533 Views, 3 Replies

Project navigator training

I've been using ACA for over 10 years now and have never really got into the project navigator.  My primary business is domestic extensions/loft conversions etc. in the UK and using Xrefs into a master file has worked very well.  I am now aware that some projects have become overly large and unwieldy and therefore wonder if the PN is the way forward.  Also we find we have to revisit projects a few years later with a minor change or when the original proposal needs to be further extended.

Can anyone point me in the direction of a good tutorial or a good reseller (in the UK) - most of them are more interested in selling me Revit!!

Kind regards

Ben

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
David_W_Koch
in reply to: Oilymo

Project Navigator (and the Drawing Management feature), eases the creation and management of external references.  I am not certain it would make a large and unwieldy project and increase its "wieldiness," but perhaps if using it would make it easier to break the project up into more, smaller, separate files that are only combined as needed to create a particular view, it might help some.

If you have access to any of Paul Aubin's ACA books (last one was for the 2011 release), they cover the use of Project Navigator while working through two different project tutorials (one residential, one commercial).  Other authors may also cover it, but I am not familiar with their work.

David Koch
AutoCAD Architecture and Revit User
Blog | LinkedIn
EESignature

Message 3 of 4
MarySeufert
in reply to: Oilymo

@Oilymo wrote: