AutoCAD Architecture General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 154
Registered: ‎07-28-2006
Message 1 of 6 (110 Views)

Help - Cut plan issue

110 Views, 5 Replies
02-21-2012 07:58 AM

On the attached drawing I have doors at two levels one at grade and one @ 36'6" With the cut line set at 3'6" everything shows correct except I have  a cut out in my wall for the high door. When I change my cut plane tp 40'-0" the upper door shows and everything below shows correct. How can I get this wall cutout for my high door out of the lower cut plan?

 

thanks Byron

Valued Mentor
Posts: 647
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 2 of 6 (90 Views)

Re: Help - Cut plan issue

02-21-2012 05:42 PM in reply to: 1bdchristian

In the properties of the wall, under the 'display' tab you can override the cut plane of an individual wall to whatever is required. You can also get to this by selecting the wall and from the right-click menu 'edit object display'.

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 154
Registered: ‎07-28-2006
Message 3 of 6 (78 Views)

Re: Help - Cut plan issue

02-22-2012 05:21 AM in reply to: jmcintyre

I have played with this for two days and I  cannot seem to close the opng for the door when the cut plan is set to the low elevation. where you able to get it to close?

Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 625
Registered: ‎04-15-2008
Message 4 of 6 (74 Views)

Re: Help - Cut plan issue

02-22-2012 06:14 AM in reply to: 1bdchristian

Does True cut do it?

I've always struggled along with the various settings as well.

TC might work with some other settings turned off as well.

www.ausaca.blogspot.com
Do you know all about the Roof Object? Learn it's secrets
http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLD9BF5D8FF70CD3DF&feature=view_all
Valued Mentor
Posts: 647
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 5 of 6 (62 Views)

Re: Help - Cut plan issue

02-22-2012 01:39 PM in reply to: 1bdchristian

In the display manager this configuration has its cut plane set to 40 feet. If you set it to 3'6" or there abouts you might have more luck.

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 154
Registered: ‎07-28-2006
Message 6 of 6 (60 Views)

Re: Help - Cut plan issue

02-22-2012 01:45 PM in reply to: jmcintyre

Got to work with true cut. I have attached the drawing. Change the cut plane from 3'6" to 40' and back and you will see the walls change as I need them to.

 

Thanks to everyones input

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community