AutoCAD Architecture General

Reply
Active Contributor
chadcross
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-09-2008
Message 1 of 3 (1,651 Views)

Autocad 2014 Freezes - Open / Save As

1651 Views, 2 Replies
09-05-2013 10:38 AM

We are having an issue where using the open dialog or save as dialog from within autocad architecture 2014 will cause the program to become unresponsive. The program must then be manually closed via task manager.

 

This only happens with open and save as, if we just use ctrl + s to save, everything works fine. Same with opening a file by double clicking it in windows explorer. Also, in the open / save as dialog window, the top drop-down bar (which has a tiered directory of the computer / network) is blank, and clicking it does nothing. It's basically a drop down menu that doesn't drop down. This leads me to believe this is some sort of networking issue.

 

The offending computer is running Windows 8. The problem does not show up on our Windows 7 machines.

 

All the computers have the same antivirus installed, and the files being accessed are stored on another computer within the network.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 3 (1,645 Views)

Re: Autocad 2014 Freezes - Open / Save As

09-05-2013 11:42 AM in reply to: chadcross

this maybe a Windows 8 issue

this happens to me time to time but not to a point where it freezes the whole program

hopefully a hotfix or service pack fixes this

Active Contributor
chadcross
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-09-2008
Message 3 of 3 (1,618 Views)

Re: Autocad 2014 Freezes - Open / Save As

09-11-2013 06:51 AM in reply to: DarrenP

The top pull-down navigation menu missing from open / save as dialogs has been resolved!

This discussion uncovered the root of the problem, which was having a phone / simliar device connected via USB. It seems having any device which shows up in My Computer under the "portable device" category will cause this navigation issue.

 

Note that this only affects our windows 8 machines, on windows 7 this isn't an issue.

 

Regarding the other freezing issues, Nvidia released new Quadro drivers today (K4000 for us) which has an interested note: “The NVIDIA® AutoCAD Performance driver is no longer integrated in the graphics driver. Standalone versions or version updates can still be downloaded from the NVIDIA driver download page.”

 

Note that no autocad performance driver has been released yet, but this may indicate that there was an issue with previous drivers. We have noticed a performance increase in autocad 2014 after updating to these new drivers.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community