AutoCAD Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCad Architecture vs Revit Architecture which is better ?

35 REPLIES 35
Message 1 of 36
goldcamaro
12850 Views, 35 Replies

AutoCad Architecture vs Revit Architecture which is better ?

Hello to all I have a question on AutoCAD Architecture vs Revit Architecture which is better? I have recently have been laid off after 15 years plus. I currently use AutoCAD Architecture 2010 and have DataCAD experience too. I started out on Board Drafting but love the CAD side of it much better. I'm looking to enhance my CAD skills and was wondering if anyone can tell me about Revit Architecture software? I have no experience and knowledge of it. Is it any better easier to use then AutoCAD? Where I worked we did not get into the 3D side for building renderings but with the economy bad I'm looking to enhance my CAD skills to better obtain a new job! I would like to possibly take a CAD course to learn 3D rendering skills. Any input on this will be most helpful.
Thanks! DJB
35 REPLIES 35
Message 2 of 36
Anonymous
in reply to: goldcamaro

Learning REVIT is a plus: many mid and large firms are at least introducing
the program if not starting to switch base building teams to it and running
it over ACA.

REVIT Arch, even more so that ACA, requires you to have a more intimate
understanding of how content/objects/details go together, and it is very
different from ACA, so expect an initial steep learning curve. Once there,
and with frequent use, it's easy to maintain.

But ACA still has a place and is widely used, so don't let that skill drop
off either.

Rendering, with either program, still also requires a bit of an artistic
eye, and a good ability to touch up images in Photoshop helps. Neither is
easier to use for rendering over the other.

--