AutoCAD Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD Architecture

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
hzheku
406 Views, 3 Replies

AutoCAD Architecture

Hi everyone, I am a student studying Architecture, and I am having trouble with something.

I wanted to know is it possible to import a file from AutoCAD Architecture 2014 (NOT AutoCAD) to Revit Architecture 2014?
I tried doing this using the Insert tab, Link CAD button, however I received the following error message:

"Some elements were lost during import. ActiveX and some proprietary components cannot be imported.
Try exploding the file in AutoCAD, or setting PROXYGRAPHICS to 1."

I tried using the Import CAD button after, and I still received the same error message.

I would greatly appreciate it if anyone could help me resolve this.

Thanks,
Henri

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
David_W_Koch
in reply to: hzheku

Revit is not able to read-in AutoCAD Architecture objects (Walls, Doors, Windows, etc.), just AutoCAD objects.  Assuming that you have access to AutoCAD Architecture (and are not just gettting the file from a source outside of your firm), you could export the AutoCAD Architecture File to AutoCAD, as this will explode the AutoCAD Architecture objects to AutoCAD objects.  Be sure to export the file to a different file name, so you do not lose the original file.