AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
Mini-Systems
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-06-2011
Message 1 of 6 (762 Views)

vanilla autocad 2014

762 Views, 5 Replies
04-24-2013 05:35 AM

I just installed my 2014 design suite premium up grade and cant seem to find just vanilla autocad on here. In earlier versions I think I found it under the start menu in the autocad mechanical folder but cant find it. Any ideas?

*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,572
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 2 of 6 (738 Views)

Re: vanilla autocad 2014

04-24-2013 07:17 AM in reply to: Mini-Systems

Make a copy of the shortcut on your desktop.  Right click to edit properties, where the /p <<ACADMPP>> (example name, yours may be different) is shown replace that with a new profile name, since it won't exist it will be created when you use that shortcut the first time. So yours would be

/p PLAIN-ACAD, obviously put a name that works for you.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,276
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 6 (728 Views)

Re: vanilla autocad 2014

04-24-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: Mini-Systems

If you go to Start>Autodesk>AutoCAD Mechanical (or something similar), do you see a Run as AutoCAD (or something similar)?

If so, right click-drag out to the desktop and select Copy Here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,105
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 6 (721 Views)

Re: vanilla autocad 2014

04-24-2013 07:32 AM in reply to: JDMather

If not, you can check the shortcut for launching the vertical.  Usually after the EXE filename they have an /ld argument which points to an ARX or DBX for the vertical tools - the "run as..." is just he vertical without those vertical tools loaded.  Try creating a new profile, point the shortcut to that with the /p argument, and omit the /ld argument.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Contributor
Mini-Systems
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-06-2011
Message 5 of 6 (709 Views)

Re: vanilla autocad 2014

04-24-2013 07:56 AM in reply to: Mini-Systems

That worked thanks!

 

I think thats what I did last year but there was not straight autocad in the folder this year

 

I still cant understand why they just dont have a short cut directly to straight autocad. I would assume thats what most people are using when they buy these packages anyways.

Active Contributor
rms390
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 6 of 6 (551 Views)

Re: vanilla autocad 2014

07-15-2013 12:10 PM in reply to: Mini-Systems

Why you ask?  It is a good question.  2013 version you could change the profile in options and delete the mechanical profile.  However this year they fixed that workaround.  I navigated to the folder where the application is located and it worked for two times opening regular autocad, then out of the blue it started opening mechanical for some reason.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube