AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Contributor
sam__gleeson
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
Message 1 of 7 (145 Views)

sketch blocks

145 Views, 6 Replies
10-14-2012 03:29 AM

I have started to creates some sketch blocks.The only issue i have is when i go and place them in a drawing they get placed way outside the layout so i have to drag them into the layout sheet.How do i get the sketch block to be placed into the layout..

Thank you

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (140 Views)

Re: sketch blocks

10-14-2012 05:09 AM in reply to: sam__gleeson
What does "place them" mean using exact AutoCAD command / function names?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,181
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 7 (135 Views)

Re: sketch blocks

10-14-2012 06:17 AM in reply to: sam__gleeson

Can you attach one of these "sketch blocks" here?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
sam__gleeson
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
Message 4 of 7 (127 Views)

Re: sketch blocks

10-14-2012 06:44 AM in reply to: JDMather

Here is a block..

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,181
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 7 (117 Views)

Re: sketch blocks

10-14-2012 10:45 AM in reply to: sam__gleeson

I suspected that you did not define an insertion point, but that was not the case.

Placement of your block  example is entirely predictable.

 

How are you placing, by typing in coordinates or On-screen?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 6 of 7 (116 Views)

Re: sketch blocks

10-14-2012 10:45 AM in reply to: sam__gleeson

The block "XFLOW STRAINER" looks fine.  The drawing named block has one insertion of "XFLOW STRAINER".  The insertion is far away from the origin of "block.dwg".  If you try to insert "block.dwg" into another drawing it will drag "XFLOW STRAINER" far from the object itself.

 

If you meant to access "XFLOW STRAINER" from other drawings, use wblock to save it to a drawing by itself or drag it to a palette and use the palette to insert "XFLOW STRAINER" into other drawings.

Active Contributor
sam__gleeson
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
Message 7 of 7 (99 Views)

Re: sketch blocks

10-15-2012 02:55 AM in reply to: sam__gleeson

Thanks for all the replies..I open up a new I open up a new AutoCad template and go to the ISO A3 Title Block sheet..Then from the Insert Tab i insert Blocks with the Insertion Point On Screen box Ticked

Thanks,,,Sam

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube