AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
palmerhinds7797
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 1 of 12 (1,969 Views)

multiline text spell check 2014

1969 Views, 11 Replies
04-23-2013 08:39 AM

The spell check works, almost. when I type a word that spell check does not recognize, I get the red underline, but when I choose to add it to dictionary, no dice. if I ignore, close the editor and reopen, the red underline is there.

What to do, what to do?

Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 582
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 2 of 12 (1,955 Views)

Re: multiline text spell check 2014

04-23-2013 09:53 AM in reply to: palmerhinds7797

I noticed this bug too, but forgot to report it.  The couple of times I've needed to add words since installing 2014, I just manually edited the AutoCAD Custom Dictionary file, which works.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,798
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 12 (1,941 Views)

Re: multiline text spell check 2014

04-23-2013 11:04 AM in reply to: palmerhinds7797
Is your DCTCUST file editable, in a folder you have full rights-access to?
Windows log-in more than a limited-user account?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 582
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 4 of 12 (1,936 Views)

Re: multiline text spell check 2014

04-23-2013 11:11 AM in reply to: pendean

Dean:

I can't speak for Palmerhinds7797, but for me the Dictionary is in a network location and that directory is already listed in Trusted Locations.  The file is not locked.  I made no changes in this setup between switching from 2012 and 2014.

Are you saying that you are not experiencing this problem on AutoCAD 2014?


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,798
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 12 (1,930 Views)

Re: multiline text spell check 2014

04-23-2013 11:22 AM in reply to: nrz13

Well, I don't start using a new dictionary file with every new version, I use the one CUS file I've had for several versions, all my own, with all my already-defined words to use.

So now that I tested it with a word I don't ever use, it does appear to not update in 2014.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 582
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 6 of 12 (1,921 Views)

Re: multiline text spell check 2014

04-23-2013 11:28 AM in reply to: pendean

Mine has been carried over as well.  It would be interesting to see if this bug affects all 2014 users or just those users who are using an already-created .cus file from previous versions.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
Product Support
pothied
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎10-01-2009
Message 7 of 12 (1,879 Views)

Re: multiline text spell check 2014

04-29-2013 11:44 AM in reply to: nrz13

I can reproduce this problem in 2014 so I will log a new issue with development to have this addressed in an upcoming service pack or release. What I am seeing is that you can add a new word to the custom dictionary when running Spell Check (outside of the Mtext command) but you can't add it while in the Mtext command. This works properly in 2013 but not in 2014. The workaround is to add the word to the dictionary manually or run SPELL and add the word when it finds the misspelled word.



David Pothier

Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 582
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 8 of 12 (1,871 Views)

Re: multiline text spell check 2014

04-29-2013 11:58 AM in reply to: pothied

Thanks, Dave.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
New Member
justapawn
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-12-2013
Message 9 of 12 (1,437 Views)

Re: multiline text spell check 2014

09-12-2013 08:40 AM in reply to: pothied

We just got AutoCAD 2014 last week, and I just found this problem.  Any idea when this might be fixed in an upcoming service pack?

Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 582
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 10 of 12 (1,384 Views)

Re: multiline text spell check 2014

09-23-2013 08:28 AM in reply to: justapawn

AutoCAD SP1 was issued on September 13, but it did not address this bug.  Given AutoCAD's track record for fixing bugs, I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for a fix.  It's possible that AutoCAD 2015 will fix it, but it's just as likely the bug will never be fixed.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube