AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Member
eileen
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 1 of 11 (231 Views)

model speace paper space

231 Views, 10 Replies
02-19-2013 01:06 PM

in a tabbed drawing the program keeps switching out of model space into paper space while Im working

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 11 (226 Views)

Re: model speace paper space

02-19-2013 01:13 PM in reply to: eileen

Are you accidently clicking on the Tab as you fly around with the mouse?

If you turn off these Tabs does the issue go away?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Member
eileen
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 3 of 11 (225 Views)

Re: model space paper space

02-19-2013 01:16 PM in reply to: eileen
Not clicking on the tab, just flying the curser around and scrolling in and out. Eileen Wunderlich Senior Interior Designer BBA Design 202-1168 Hamilton Street Vancouver, B.C. Canada V6B 2S2 T: 604.688.4434 F: 604.688.5445 eileen@bba-design.comwww.bba-design.com click here to subscribe to iNspire, BBA's Quarterly enews http://eepurl.com/F9nx
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 4 of 11 (205 Views)

Re: model space paper space

02-19-2013 01:56 PM in reply to: eileen

Have you tried turning the Tabs off to see if that helps?

I catch a Tab form time to time when in the groove and it is only because I touched it and clicked.

For me it's down and right when doing a selection window or up and left when starting a crossing window.

 

It would be unusual for CAD to just switch spaces without something intervening.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,125
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 5 of 11 (200 Views)

Re: model space paper space

02-19-2013 02:08 PM in reply to: eileen

Are you going to the actual model tab, or activating a viewport in the layout?

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Member
eileen
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 6 of 11 (195 Views)

Re: model space paper space

02-19-2013 02:30 PM in reply to: dgorsman

working in a viewport

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,889
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 11 (187 Views)

Re: model speace paper space

02-19-2013 02:38 PM in reply to: eileen
Sounds like you are activating VPMAX, not actually going to the model tab.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 8 of 11 (156 Views)

Re: model speace paper space

02-20-2013 04:46 AM in reply to: pendean

Still not something that would randomly happen while in an active Viewport.

Thought dbl clicking may do so but not here.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,889
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 11 (150 Views)

Re: model speace paper space

02-20-2013 04:54 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

"...Not clicking on the tab..."

"...just flying the curser around..."

Double-clicking on a viewport outline puts you in VPMAX: a possible shortcut or screen icon/button accidentally triggered may be helping as well.

 

I suspect by "flying around" the OP may be doing more than that realize with delicate mouse button presses and clicking.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 10 of 11 (126 Views)

Re: model speace paper space

02-20-2013 01:59 PM in reply to: pendean

Did not try the outline just inside.

This does remind me of the times I did that and wondered what was going on

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube