AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Swass78
Message 1 of 4 (159 Views)

minor selection issue

159 Views, 3 Replies
10-20-2012 10:31 AM

Hi, I'm very new to AutoCAD and I feel this issue is a simple one but couldn't find a solution about it.

I am selectiong using a crossing window. Normally (on another computer) I would see the lines and stuff get selected as I drag the selection box. As the box crosses a line or object, it highlights automatically so I can see the selection before I close the selection box.

Now, on my laptop, I do not see the objects that will be selected. AutoCAD rather waits until I close the selection window, then it highlights the selected items.

I searched the OPtions, but couldn't find anything that changed that. Could someone point me to a solution?

Thanks a lot, and sorry if this had been addressed. I didn't really know what terms to search for exactly.

Mentor
Janet2009
Message 2 of 4 (149 Views)

Re: minor selection issue

10-20-2012 11:22 AM in reply to: Swass78

Selection Preview settings

Swass78
Message 3 of 4 (141 Views)

10-20-2012 12:04 PM in reply to: Janet2009

Yeah I tried that. Does not do anything, visually.

Here is what I tried :

OP -> selection tab :

Preview When a/no command is active (tried both checked or unchecked)

Property preview (tried checked or unchecked)

OP -> selection tab -> Visual Effect Settings :

Texture fill and Indicate selection area (tried checked or unchecked)

Line highlighting set to "both" (tried Dash and Thicken too)

The only thing I can think of is that I imported the profile and CUI I use at school. However, reverting to defaults does not fix it. Lines still wait until I release the selection window before showing as selected...

Swass78
Message 4 of 4 (137 Views)

10-20-2012 12:29 PM in reply to: Swass78

Oh, just got it. FYI, here is what was wrong :

OP -> System tab -> Performance settings -> Enable Hardware Acceleration checkbox was unchecked