AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
jetgray7345
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 1 of 33 (289 Views)

autocad 2013 help please

289 Views, 32 Replies
02-05-2013 07:14 PM

We just upgraded to windows 7 from windows xp 32 bit. I had 8 years of cad drawings and blocks and now that I'm on a windows 7 computer 64 bit I see the outline to all my blocks but all the texts and images are missiing inside. I've tried this on other users windows 7 computers and its all there. I know the data is there I just can't seem to get it to show up on 2013 or 12 3d now that I'm a windows 7 workstation. Could it be cause I don't have admin rights? Any tips or tricks please help this is killing me I'm wasting too much time trying to solve this myself.

*Expert Elite*
edwin.prakoso
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 2 of 33 (271 Views)

Re: autocad 2013 help please

02-05-2013 11:09 PM in reply to: jetgray7345

Can you provide screenshots or if possible, the DWG file?

Kind regards,
Edwin Prakoso | www.cad-notes.com | @CADnotes

If this post solve your issue, please mark this post as solution. It will help others who have the same issue to find solution.
Contributor
jetgray7345
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 3 of 33 (268 Views)

Re: autocad 2013 help please

02-05-2013 11:35 PM in reply to: edwin.prakoso

I will do both first thing in the morning when I get to work.

However if I send you the file you'll be able to see it for some in its complete form and see what I'm talking about

on your computer. Its just the outlines to all my blocks and drawings that I have and  I have none of the text  in any of the blocks or drawings just the outer layer of the blocks on my computer. i will take pictures of what I have on my screen. I will send you pictures and dwg file tomorrow.. Thank you so much for trying to help me...

*Expert Elite*
M_Hensley
Posts: 1,697
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 4 of 33 (257 Views)

Re: autocad 2013 help please

02-06-2013 03:30 AM in reply to: jetgray7345

Sounds like your attributes got turned off. Type ATTMODE and set it to 1

Contributor
jetgray7345
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 5 of 33 (246 Views)

Re: autocad 2013 help please

02-06-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: M_Hensley

set attributes to 1 and same thing

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,224
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 6 of 33 (240 Views)

Re: autocad 2013 help please

02-06-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: jetgray7345

There is a system variable which shows text as an outline box, something of a holdover from ye olde days when hardware performance wasn't great.  I can't remember it off the top of my head, maybe somebody else with more time can look it up.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Contributor
jetgray7345
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 7 of 33 (240 Views)

Re: autocad 2013 help please

02-06-2013 07:47 AM in reply to: jetgray7345

here are the files and images of whats happening, the file is how it's supposed to look, the image is how it looks now.

thanks again if anyone can help me

Contributor
jetgray7345
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 8 of 33 (238 Views)

Re: autocad 2013 help please

02-06-2013 07:49 AM in reply to: jetgray7345

and here is the photo of how it looks now

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,235
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 9 of 33 (222 Views)

Re: autocad 2013 help please

02-06-2013 07:55 AM in reply to: jetgray7345

Try not to save clear back to 2000 version and see it it'll improve.

*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,709
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 10 of 33 (222 Views)

Re: autocad 2013 help please

02-06-2013 07:56 AM in reply to: dgorsman

QTEXT maybe?  Gotta regen after applying the command.

 

Regards,

DJ

 

 

[edit]

 

Yeah, that really looks like QTEXT is enabled.

 

[/edit]

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.