AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Mentor
deltacoolguy
Message 1 of 5 (433 Views)

What is the purpose of "style overrides"?

433 Views, 4 Replies
01-30-2013 07:20 AM

I have to ask...

What is the purpose of "style overrides"?  In dimension styles, I mean.

I've been using AutoCAD for over 20 years.  I've been having "style overrides" take over dimensions from the set styles for seemingly forever.  I'm not asking how to stop them, though that would be nice, but just want to know what their purpose is.

New drawing, new project, fresh program install, doesn't seem to make a difference.  They still show up.

Seriously, I cannot recall even one single time... ever... that I wanted the program to override my set style.  Not once.

Is there a legitimate purpose behind them that I am missing?

Windows 7-64
8GB RAM
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Message 2 of 5 (427 Views)

Re: What is the purpose of "style overrides"?

01-30-2013 07:30 AM in reply to: deltacoolguy

If you are speaking of dimstyle, an override occurs anytime a dimension variable is changed outside of ddim modify style.

This can typically occur if: 1)Your template was not saved with the overrides merged into the style, 2)You have lisp or vba customizations or menu macros that change the styles. or 3)You set dimscale or another variable directly.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Message 3 of 5 (419 Views)

01-30-2013 08:10 AM in reply to: deltacoolguy