AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 21 of 51 (3,393 Views)

Re: View problem when switching from paper space to model space

05-01-2012 09:17 AM in reply to: simon.thouin

The list of certified graphics cards can be found here:

http://www.autodesk.com/graphics-hardware

 

Thanks,

Luciane

Contributor
owenp
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-21-2008
Message 22 of 51 (3,374 Views)

Re: View problem when switching from paper space to model space

05-02-2012 03:20 AM in reply to: luconceicao

Hi,

 

I'm also having the same problem with switching from paper space to model space. Just thought I'd add my experience to help someone find an answer.

 

My machine is running Windows 7, I'm using Civil 3D 2013, and have a NVIDIA Quadro 400, which appears to be certified. I don't think it's a graphics card problem anyway, because it's literally changing the view of the model space, and I can pan, zoom and rotate. In fact, when I switch to model space, I initially see nothing at all, and only when I zoom to extents do I see the thin line at an angle that is my whole 2D drawing.

 

Audit showed no errors.

UCSFOLLOW set to 0 or 1 made no difference.

 

... Ok, the workaround provided by nrz13: --> (defun c:5 ()(command "model")(command "-view" "o" "t")(princ)) <-- works! :smileyhappy: And I mean permanently. I closed and reopened the drawing, and it seems to be fixed.

 

Actually, I just used "-view" "o" "t" at the command line in model space the one time, since I already have a keyboard command setup using "tilemode" that I didn't want to mess with. I try to keep my lsp's to a minimum.

 

I don't think it's a big hassle to fix this error only when it occurs, but a permanent solution to stop it occuring would still be great.

 

I hope mnelson and simon have similar results.


Contributor
owenp
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-21-2008
Message 23 of 51 (3,367 Views)

Re: View problem when switching from paper space to model space

05-02-2012 04:24 AM in reply to: owenp

Sorry, just an update. I didn't realise that the fix hadn't really fixed the problem.

 

By using "-view" "o" "t", I'd reset the UCS to the World Coordinate System. Which works fine, every time. 

Going back to my custom UCS, or even setting up a new one results in the original problem. I'm out of ideas.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 24 of 51 (3,341 Views)

Re: View problem when switching from paper space to model space

05-02-2012 09:12 AM in reply to: simon.thouin

Hi Simon,

I've been testing in vanilla AutoCAD but it appears that you are using Civil 3D.

I will ask a colleague to try to reproduce the issue, maye this is only affecting Civil 3D.

I'll let you know the results.

Cheers,

Luciane

Product Support
SethHall
Posts: 723
Registered: ‎02-08-2010
Message 25 of 51 (3,329 Views)

Re: View problem when switching from paper space to model space

05-02-2012 12:11 PM in reply to: luconceicao

Hi Simon-

 

Try typing PLAN>CURRENT when this occurs to set your view back to original. 



Seth Hall
Product Support
GCSO - CSS - FTS
Autodesk, Inc.


Being Civil
Being Civil Twitter
Being Civil Facebook







Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 578
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 26 of 51 (3,324 Views)

Re: View problem when switching from paper space to model space

05-02-2012 12:17 PM in reply to: SethHall

If SethHall's suggestion works, then you can modify the workaround routine thusly:

defun c:5 ()(command "model")(command "plan" "current")(princ))

 

 

Again, it's not solving the underlying problem, but would just be a seamless workaround until the underlying problem can be solved.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
Active Member
simon.thouin
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Message 27 of 51 (3,319 Views)

Re: View problem when switching from paper space to model space

05-02-2012 12:32 PM in reply to: luconceicao

Thanks for your help but I knew how to get the Top view back.  I'm looking for a way to fix the problem permanently.

Member
mnelson
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-27-2009
Message 28 of 51 (3,305 Views)

Re: View problem when switching from paper space to model space

05-02-2012 02:45 PM in reply to: luconceicao

I'm also on C3D 2013, I've been dealing with Karen Dowling on some other issues so I'll shoot her an email with a link to this thread and a culprit drawing from 2012 - with no errors, that has this error.

 

Cheers

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 29 of 51 (3,288 Views)

Re: View problem when switching from paper space to model space

05-03-2012 06:26 AM in reply to: simon.thouin

Hi Simon,

Our Civil 3D specialists confirmed that this is a known issue and our developers are aware of it.

You already know about the workarounds so I won't repeat them :smileyhappy:

Thanks for reporting it, hopefully this will be addressed soon.

Cheers,

Luciane

Active Member
simon.thouin
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Message 30 of 51 (3,282 Views)

Re: View problem when switching from paper space to model space

05-03-2012 07:04 AM in reply to: luconceicao

Thank you Luciane.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube