Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade From Autocad 2012 to 2015

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
ryankr21
2440 Views, 4 Replies

Upgrade From Autocad 2012 to 2015

I am working on upgrading a client's autocad from 2012 to 2015 and I am completely ignorant of autocad. I am a developer who was given a .net project which uses autocad, but until now I've been able to leave that part of the project untouched. I downloaded the 2015 trial and found the acdbmgd.dll file I needed. However, the 2015 version doesn't seem to contain a dll called "acmgd.dll". Is there an equivalent dll in 2015? Again, I have no idea what I'm referring to, I'm trying to convert this project without learning autocad.

Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
dgorsman
in reply to: ryankr21

First, dotNET development board is here: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/NET/bd-p/152

Second, in order to program for AutoCAD you really do need to understand the basics.  If you haven't already, I'd *strongly* suggest downloading the SDK which includes references you can program against without having to hunt through the actual installs.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
"I don't know" is the beginning of knowledge, not the end.

Message 3 of 5
ryankr21
in reply to: dgorsman

I found "acmgd.dll" in C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2015. The dll has clearly changed some in the new version of autocad, it seems most of the references are still broken in the code when i reference the new dll. I don't see any XML comments explaining the functions, so how would you recommend I figure out what the equivalent of the old code is in 2015? Is more detailed developer documentation anywhere? 

Dim ed As Autodesk.AutoCAD.EditorInput.Editor = doc.Editor - old code

Dim ed As Autodesk.AutoCAD.EditorInput.EditorExtension - what i see when looking for equivalent code in 2015 version

Message 4 of 5
ryankr21