Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Successfully installed AutoCAD 2013 on a Windows 8.1, but I cannot use VIEWBASE

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
robertsuhling
394 Views, 4 Replies

Successfully installed AutoCAD 2013 on a Windows 8.1, but I cannot use VIEWBASE

Hello.  I have a question as to how to get base view (I believe command "VIEWBASE") to work in my copy of AutoCAD 2013.  I have it installed on my work and home computer.  The home computer uses Windows 7, and I have no problem with it.  The work computer uses Windows 8.1, and it works out well, mostly.  The biggest problem is that I can't put 3D models on a 2D paper space anymore.  Hopefully I'm wrong, but I've come to the conclusion that the answer to this problem is more involved than "just press this button and check this box."  I'm no expert, though, so I'd love to be proven wrong on that point.

I've tried to download the various service packs suggested by other forum posts, but service packs v.1.1 and v.2 for 64-bit systems apparently don't play nicely with Windows 8 or 8.1.  Is there some AutoCAD 2013 hotfix for a windows 8.1-addled computers, or do I have to figure this out some other way?  Apparently, Win8 is compatible with ACAD2013, but I'm reading more and more posts that say otherwise.

(the files were found through the thread found at http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2013-2014-2015/VIEWBASE-inventor-server-failed-to-load/td-p/45...

I hope someone can help. Thanks for reading.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
pendean
in reply to: robertsuhling

2013 is not supported in Win8/8.1: you can't change that reality. Otherwise it seems to work fine for many users.

May I ask why you didn't post a DWG with the problem for all of us to see and follow along with your issue? Please do so now.
Message 3 of 5

Hi,

>> The biggest problem is that I can't put 3D models on a 2D paper space anymore