AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
t0m34
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-16-2014
Message 11 of 16 (109 Views)

Re: Selecting objects

02-02-2014 11:32 AM in reply to: warruda

there is such helpful function, named selection cycling, it is one of status toggles. You can activate it by combination ctrl+w if I remember well. It allows You to select object hidden behind the other

Member
johnrmoore
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-02-2014
Message 12 of 16 (103 Views)

Re: Selecting objects

02-02-2014 04:45 PM in reply to: warruda

You can also set up multiple viewports in model space. This allows you to isolate certain views of your drawing or model. The really cool thing about this feature is that you can, for instance, start drawing a line in one viewport, and then extend it directly into the next viewport to connect it to an object in that section of your drawing. This is especially useful for 3D, and is far better than just changing your drawing to a wireframe view; it provides 100% precision.  As far as the command I forget, but a simple search of "viewports" in AUTOCAD Help (f1) will definitely show you how. Hope that helps.

*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,581
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 13 of 16 (91 Views)

Re: Selecting objects

02-03-2014 07:44 AM in reply to: warruda
Experiment with CULLINGOBJ and CULLINGOBJSELECTION variables, start with them both at 0.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Member
warruda
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-31-2014
Message 14 of 16 (86 Views)

Re: Selecting objects

02-03-2014 08:05 AM in reply to: t0m34

Thanks, but it didn't work!

 

Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 855
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 15 of 16 (82 Views)

Re: Selecting objects

02-03-2014 08:34 AM in reply to: warruda

I cannot repeat your problem while using wireframe mode. I created a cube. Did a shell of the cube so everything is enclosed like you would have with walls, floor, ceiling. I placed an extruded rectangle on the inside plane, "wall", of the cube. I can select the rectangle with no problems. If the "painting" isn't overlaying other lines, there is no reason you cannot select it due to a "wall" being "in front" of the painting. The only time I have difficulty selecting the rectangle is when I have the Visual Style on a rendered style, such as Conceptual or Shaded. Post your drawing so we can see this problem ourselves. It is hard to diagnose a problem if we can't reproduce it.

Member
johnrmoore
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-02-2014
Message 16 of 16 (79 Views)

Re: Selecting objects

02-03-2014 08:49 AM in reply to: warruda
Okay, so if you refer to my original suggestion, I will explain further. In model space, go to the view tab, and then select "Viewport Configuration." This allows you to have multiple views of your model, each with its own viewing angle. It's like having multiple screens to work with; you can even start a feature in one viewport, and continue it into the next one, even if the view are not coplanar. You can have up to 64 different viewports in one model space. These type of viewports are not to be mistaken for the type you use in paper space.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements

    Come hangout with Autodesk Support Specialist and AutoCAD guru Volker Cocco, to learn about Precision Drafting: Object Snaps and Object Tracking on July 31 @ 11:00 AM PST.

    Click here for registration information!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube