AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
snakerancher
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 1 of 12 (614 Views)

STRETCH - De-Selecting objects causes fatal error

614 Views, 11 Replies
05-10-2012 05:23 AM

When using the STRETCH command I fence objects I want to stretch, after deselecting objects I don't want in the selection set I right click to accept, this causes a FATAL ERROR.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,872
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 12 (607 Views)

Re: STRETCH - De-Selecting objects causes fatal error

05-10-2012 08:34 AM in reply to: snakerancher

So it crashes on the right-click? Not if you hit <enter> on your keyboard?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
snakerancher
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 3 of 12 (604 Views)

Re: STRETCH - De-Selecting objects causes fatal error

05-10-2012 08:58 AM in reply to: pendean

Yes, crashes on right click, I will try hitting enter, haven't thought of that yet.

Member
TDKey
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-22-2012
Message 4 of 12 (559 Views)

Re: STRETCH - De-Selecting objects causes fatal error

05-22-2012 06:53 AM in reply to: snakerancher

I have this same exact problem using Civil 3D 2013.  I don't use right click, I hit enter and it crashes.  It seems silly that something so simple causes the entire program to crash.  I see this hasn't had any replies lately, but I've been having this problem for at least a month now.  I'll add that it doesn't cause a crash, it's completely random.  It makes me not want to ever use the stretch command, which is a shame because I normally use it all the time.  Now if I want to use, I have to make sure to save everything, it's very frustrating.  Any help or a reply saying you're working on a fix would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

Distinguished Contributor
snakerancher
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 5 of 12 (556 Views)

Re: STRETCH - De-Selecting objects causes fatal error

05-22-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: snakerancher

I have a support ticket in with Autodesk.  They were not able to replicate the problem until I sent them one of my drawings.  Just sent them the dwg yesterday, waiting for solution.

 

Weird it popped up in 2013.

Member
TDKey
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-22-2012
Message 6 of 12 (552 Views)

Re: STRETCH - De-Selecting objects causes fatal error

05-22-2012 07:10 AM in reply to: snakerancher

Ok, thanks for the reply.

Distinguished Contributor
snakerancher
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 7 of 12 (528 Views)

Re: STRETCH - De-Selecting objects causes fatal error

05-23-2012 05:08 AM in reply to: TDKey

Here is the solution from Autodesk.

 

The solution to this is simpler than what I thought. In model space, you should do a crossing window to select all of the objects that you need, copy them, start a new drawing, and paste the objects in. Then save the new drawing as a DWG 2013, and work off it from now on if you're going to use AutoCAD 2013. Always keep the original drawing as a backup.

In the new drawing, I was consistently able to run the stretch routine on the same object that consistently failed in the original drawing.

This is likely because the original file is a DWG 2004 format, and I see that changes were made to the STRETCH command in the 2006 releases of AutoCAD.

 

My question to them is, why is this the first version of AutoCAD that it is a problem? Also, some of our customers use older versions of AutoCAD so saving as a 2013 dwg version is not an option for us.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,224
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 8 of 12 (520 Views)

Re: STRETCH - De-Selecting objects causes fatal error

05-23-2012 05:44 AM in reply to: snakerancher

Is that what they called it SOLUTION ?

it's a WORKAROUND, what about the paperspace, do you have to remake the viewports?

Member
TDKey
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-22-2012
Message 9 of 12 (517 Views)

Re: STRETCH - De-Selecting objects causes fatal error

05-23-2012 05:49 AM in reply to: snakerancher

That's not exactly a simple solution.  I've been using Civil 3D since 2008 and copying civil objects, such as surfaces and pipe networks, isn't an easy or safe thing to do with how much AutoCAD crashes while working with civil objects.  I believe the drawing file I'm working on at the moment that crashes using stretch was created using Civil 3D 2012.  A patch or bug fix for this problem would be ideal and hopefully Autodesk is working on this since they apparently know why this is happening.

Distinguished Contributor
snakerancher
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 10 of 12 (510 Views)

Re: STRETCH - De-Selecting objects causes fatal error

05-23-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: TDKey

I did ask about the fact that this is the first version of AutoCAD that this has been a problem, no answer yet.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube