Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Revolved polyline with incorrect wireframe when using different axis

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
soupisgoodfood
633 Views, 12 Replies

Revolved polyline with incorrect wireframe when using different axis

Why does WCS change the way solids are created when revolving a polyline?

I’ve been working on some polylines that I want to revolve. Even though it is really a side elevation drawing, I started drawing on the top plane. I did test revolves and they worked fine.

Then I decided to rotate the polylines so they appeared as the right side in the WCS (90 on the X axis, then 90 on the Z axis). But after doing this, whenever I revolve the polyline, the ring shape it forms is correct, but the wireframe doesn't look right, as it has two poles where lines meet to a point, like the top and bottom of a sphere.

I thought it was because I had been changing the UCS. That doesn’t seem to be the case, as if I reset the to the WCS it still has the same problem.

So, I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong, as I thought that it shouldn't matter what axis I revolve around (going from using the X to the Y axis) as long as it’s the correct axis relative to the plane of the polyline. I guess not. Or is it something else?

I’ve watched a few of the video tutorials on Lynda.com again to try and find where I’m going wrong, but didn’t find anything.

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13

Here's a screenshot of what I'm talkng about.

Message 3 of 13

No replies because this is an obvious/silly question, or because no-one can figure out why it's doing this?

Message 4 of 13
hgasty1001
in reply to: soupisgoodfood

Hi,

Try posting a dwg, so someone can test it.

Gaston Nunez

Message 5 of 13
soupisgoodfood
in reply to: hgasty1001

The yellow layer called "base profle" is one of polylines I'm trying to revolve.

The first file is after I rotated the drawing.

The second file is after doing the revolve.

Message 6 of 13
hgasty1001

i,