AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
Message 1 of 18 (308 Views)
Accepted Solution

Problem with sweep command

308 Views, 17 Replies
07-11-2013 09:57 PM

Hi there. I have been trying to convert this surface (attached file)  in to a closed volume. But somehow it isnt working.

Then I tried to create this figure myself by creating two circles (one at the top and the other at the bottom) and then creating the path for using the sweep command , but it gives a error " sweep preoduces self intersecting curves".

 

Can anybody help me to convert this surface in to a sloid volume or if thats not possible can this geometry be created to the nearest possible approximation.

Thank you for the time. I really appreciate it. :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,294
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 2 of 18 (292 Views)

Re: Problem with sweep command

07-12-2013 12:33 AM in reply to: rohit.jain092
Hi,

Try to use LOFT command instead of sweep. Use circles as start and end crossections and then fine-tune Draft angles (start and end) in loft settings dialog.

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Active Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
Message 3 of 18 (277 Views)

Re: Problem with sweep command

07-12-2013 04:45 AM in reply to: maxim_k
Maxim: Thank you for looking in to the matter.
Is there a way to find the draft angles or i have to arbitrary choose any
value and then fine tune it.

--
Rohit Jain
Senior Undergraduate
PEC University of Technology
Chandigarh
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 1,086
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 4 of 18 (269 Views)

Re: Problem with sweep command

07-12-2013 05:13 AM in reply to: rohit.jain092

If the arc represents the intended profile, Make sure the top and bottom are circles, then polar array the arc profile around the center.  Use LOFT making sure the MOde is Solid  with the GUIDES option.

 

Loft-Guides.gif

Active Contributor
LaserGuy
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 5 of 18 (268 Views)

Re: Problem with sweep command

07-12-2013 05:19 AM in reply to: rohit.jain092

There something weird about that surface. Is in imported from another program?

 

SurfaceCutInHalf.JPG

Dell T7500
x5690 Xeon 3.46/3.73GHz
24Gb, SSDs, Quadro, Win7 x64
AutoCAD Mechanical 2014
Active Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
Message 6 of 18 (260 Views)

Re: Problem with sweep command

07-12-2013 05:48 AM in reply to: nestly
Hi nestly,
Thank you for your suggestion. But that isn't working either. It isn't
identifying the guide paths.

--
Rohit Jain
Senior Undergraduate
PEC University of Technology
Chandigarh
Active Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
Message 7 of 18 (260 Views)

Re: Problem with sweep command

07-12-2013 05:49 AM in reply to: LaserGuy
Hi LaserGuy
Yes this surface has been created from point cloud data.

--
Rohit Jain
Senior Undergraduate
PEC University of Technology
Chandigarh
Active Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
Message 8 of 18 (252 Views)

Re: Problem with sweep command

07-12-2013 05:58 AM in reply to: nestly

Hi nestly, Can you please tell me how did you create the guide. Is it any arbitrary curve or the the actual path for this problem because when when i do it , it does not accept the guides.

Thanks

Active Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
Message 9 of 18 (247 Views)

Re: Problem with sweep command

07-12-2013 06:07 AM in reply to: LaserGuy

Hi laserguy

Thank you for the solution. can you please tell how did you actually do it. I have understood what you have done, but not how did you do it.

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 1,086
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 10 of 18 (246 Views)

Re: Problem with sweep command

07-12-2013 06:09 AM in reply to: rohit.jain092

rohit.jain092 wrote:

Hi nestly, Can you please tell me how did you create the guide. Is it any arbitrary curve or the the actual path for this problem because when when i do it , it does not accept the guides.

 


I made the assumption that the surface in your drawing was accurate for your purposes, so I simply exploded it.  The exploded geometry included an arc representing the profile.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube