AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Member
glenn2008
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-13-2010
Message 1 of 15 (423 Views)

Printing to Adobe PDF

423 Views, 14 Replies
04-17-2013 08:10 PM

acad 2014 will not plot as a pdf.  it will plot to the HP plotter with no trouble.  but cancels out the pdf.  get error message  no "startdocprinter" mesage.

Active Contributor
rgc3679
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-17-2011
Message 2 of 15 (409 Views)

Re: Printing to Adobe PDF

04-17-2013 11:08 PM in reply to: glenn2008

I've been evaluating 2014 (Win8 64bit) and I've generated several PDFs. I use 2010 and have always had PDF problems so I wanted to make sure all is working before I commit to buy.

 

I've generated the PDFs using the print icon in the ribbon, and Output | PDF - both ways worked.

 

I hope you get it solved.

 

 

--Bob
PDS 2014/Win8 64/32GB RAM/256GB SSD RAID1/Asus P9X79 Deluxe/i7 3820/nVidia Quadro K2000D/Dual 27" LCD
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,287
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 15 (392 Views)

Re: Printing to Adobe PDF

04-18-2013 05:27 AM in reply to: glenn2008
Are you using the built-in DWG TO PDF.PC3 file? If yes, try a repair reinstall of 2014, it works fine here too.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Product Support
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎12-02-2008
Message 4 of 15 (366 Views)

Re: Printing to Adobe PDF

04-22-2013 12:43 PM in reply to: pendean

Hello Glenn2008,

 

Please let us know if the issue is still occuring, or if the suggestions given have helped you solve this.



Shawn Niles
Member
glenn2008
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-13-2010
Message 5 of 15 (350 Views)

Re: Printing to Adobe PDF

04-22-2013 06:55 PM in reply to: Shawn_Niles
I am still having problems. while I can print to the generic pdf. i cannot print to the certain of my pdfs that i could before. attached is a rtf message of the error.


Glenn Higashioka
Higash Associates, Inc.
glennhigas@aol.com
phone: (415) 826-2808
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 1,885
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 6 of 15 (348 Views)

Re: Printing to Adobe PDF

04-22-2013 07:03 PM in reply to: glenn2008

Nothing attached to post.

Jay

C3D 2012 SP3 & C3D 2014 SP1
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Distinguished Contributor
clemay
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎01-24-2013
Message 7 of 15 (316 Views)

Re: Printing to Adobe PDF

04-23-2013 11:30 AM in reply to: Jay_B

You may have to install Acrobat Adobe if your current pdf viewer is not working correctly.  I don't believe its an AutoCAD issue, but may be your pdf program.  I would try a different one or reinstall it and create a pdf through another program first.  The quickest way to plot to pdf is through your batch plot options throught the large red A at the top left of your software.  Hope this helps.

C3D 2014 SP1
DELL Precision T3600
Intel Xeon E5-1650 @ 3.20GHz
NVIDIA QUADRO 4000 Dual Monitor
32 GB RAM / Win7 Pro 64-bit
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 8 of 15 (294 Views)

Re: Printing to Adobe PDF

04-24-2013 12:11 AM in reply to: clemay

In my installation of AutoCAD 2014 I have four (4) different Printer/plotters available for creating PDFs:

 

1.  Adobe PDF;

2.  Adobe CLR-PDF.pc3;

3.  Adobe PDF.pc3;  and,

4.  DWG to PDF.pc3

 

All of them work, but the quality of the PDF in #4 is always the worst.  You may not have the Adobe PDF option if you don't have Adobe Acrobat.  As mentioned above there are also other free PDF creators (CutePDF, and others) that you can try that may work better than what you've already tried.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,287
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 15 (286 Views)

Re: Printing to Adobe PDF

04-24-2013 05:06 AM in reply to: heinsite
Dave, "worst" display is often just a PDF Viewer setting (or a lighter faster PDF viewer) and nothing more.
But it may be easier to simply use a cheaper simpler freeware PDF driver for most too.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 10 of 15 (284 Views)

Re: Printing to Adobe PDF

04-24-2013 05:19 AM in reply to: pendean

pendean wrote:
Dave, "worst" display is often just a PDF Viewer setting (or a lighter faster PDF viewer) and nothing more.
But it may be easier to simply use a cheaper simpler freeware PDF driver for most too.

One would think.  But if I create four (4) separate PDFs of the same drawing using those four (4) different printer/plotter configurations and then look at all of them in the same Adobe Acrobat viewer, why does the one plotted with DWG to PDF.pc3 have the poorest  line quality?  All other settings in the AutoCAD plot dialog are the same.

 

I stopped using that configuration long ago.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube