Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plot styles for different scales?

17 REPLIES 17
Message 1 of 18
mbuonocore
6417 Views, 17 Replies

Plot styles for different scales?

I've been using Autocad for over 20 years.  Any office I've ever worked in never used custom plot styles.

Can custom plot styles control lineweights of objects at different scales?  For example, I have a floor plan drawn for 1/4" plotting the lineweights look fine.  Now I want to print that floor plan at 1/8" but many lines now look darker than before.  Can I create a plotstyle for the 1/8" scale to control the lineweights?

If so, can someone point me to a good resource for instructions.  I've found some information but it a bit confusing.

Thanks.

17 REPLIES 17
Message 2 of 18
pendean
in reply to: mbuonocore

STYLESMANAGER inside AutoCAD to open the folder where your styles are located, make a copy of the one you want to edit, double click on this copy, click on the last tab (far right), select a pen and help yourself.

If you get stuck post back: CTB and STB work differently, hopefully you know which one you are using.
Message 3 of 18
maxim_k

If you are managing lineweight settings in your drawing with layers (each layer has it's own lineweight assigned and objects resides on different layers with lineweight set BYLAYER to accomplish different lineweight output) you can even don't use Plot Styles.
I use Layer states. If I need to output drawing in different scales, I create a set of Layer states with different lineweights assigned to Layers (for large scales lineweight scheme is "lighter" than for small scales. Then I activate Layer state I need for current scale.

Maxim

Do you find the posts helpful? "LIKE" these posts!
Have your question been answered successfully? Click 'ACCEPT SOLUTION' button.

Maxim Kanaev
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | Linkedin

Etiquette and Ground Rules of Autodesk Community
Message 4 of 18
dgorsman