AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
jack
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 1 of 11 (368 Views)
Accepted Solution

MASKING IMG PROBLEM

368 Views, 10 Replies
04-09-2012 11:56 AM

Hi Folks:

Having an issue with masking images (see attached).  This file displays masked images fine in 2012, but in 2013 some of the images change color and display as well as print.  Odd thing is that it only displays 25% to 50% of the mask.  In this example you can see that there are numerous types of masks.  Square / circular / and polygonal (starting at the top left of the attached clip and moving counter clockwise).  Any help or insight is appreciated.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 582
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 2 of 11 (322 Views)

Re: MASKING IMG PROBLEM

04-12-2012 07:08 AM in reply to: jack

Hi Jack,

 

Could you please upload your drawing or part of it so that we can have a better look?

 

Cheers,

Luciane

 

Luciane Conceição
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
jack
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 3 of 11 (311 Views)

Re: MASKING IMG PROBLEM

04-12-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: luconceicao

Here you go.  Any help is appreciated.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 582
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 4 of 11 (303 Views)

Re: MASKING IMG PROBLEM

04-12-2012 09:01 AM in reply to: jack

Hi Jack,

 

I can reproduce the issue and it looks like part of the raster image in the wipeout is displaying.

Do you need that raster image in the block? If I delete the image all is displayed fine.

Note, your file had one error that Recover fixed.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

Active Member
jack
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 5 of 11 (300 Views)

Re: MASKING IMG PROBLEM

04-12-2012 09:04 AM in reply to: luconceicao

Yes I need the raster (background mask)  to block linework that is behind the block.  This eliminates the need for trimming all of the linework that occurs under the block.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 582
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 6 of 11 (298 Views)

Re: MASKING IMG PROBLEM

04-12-2012 09:08 AM in reply to: jack

If I create a simple wipeout I think I get the result that you want.

I understand that you want to use the wipeout in the block, so I think you do not need the raster image as well. Is this correct?

Just trying to understand how you want to use the block.

Cheers,

Luciane

Active Member
jack
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 7 of 11 (295 Views)

Re: MASKING IMG PROBLEM

04-12-2012 09:33 AM in reply to: luconceicao

Yes, wipouts seem to work out fine.  However we have a large library of blocks which use image masks as well as wipeouts.  I would hate to have to revise all of our blocks because something has been changed in the program.  The image masks always worked fine previously.  Often we use a 3rd party prog.  "toopak' to draw image masks for blocks we create that are typically used over linework like walls to eliminate having to trim lots of linework.

Active Member
jack
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 8 of 11 (293 Views)

Re: MASKING IMG PROBLEM

04-12-2012 09:49 AM in reply to: jack

We also have problems using std. wipeouts on circular blocks.  Image masks seem to work better there.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 9 of 11 (289 Views)

Re: MASKING IMG PROBLEM

04-12-2012 10:02 AM in reply to: jack

Hi,

 

if you convert your BMP to a TIF (I have one attached) and then exchange it by using the XRef-dialog I get the correct display. Will that work for you?

 

In case of wipeouts generall, I'm used to use hatches on a layer having the truecolor 255,255,255. So I don't need any external file to send to anyone that has to use the drawing. For objects like this block I also sometimes use polyline and polyline-width as it needs less system-ressources.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
jack
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 10 of 11 (287 Views)

Re: MASKING IMG PROBLEM

04-12-2012 10:18 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Alfred:

Thanks dude!  The tiff did the trick....although that really seems like an effort that we shouldn't have to make.  I'd like to understand what has changed in the program that caused this problem in the first place. 

 

Thanks again!  easy fix.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube