AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
wingnutrules
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
Message 1 of 10 (8,786 Views)

Importing ECW files

8786 Views, 9 Replies
11-23-2012 08:02 AM

I'm currently running Autocad 2013 and I can make sense of how to import ECW files. I'm very new at working with these kinds of files.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,714
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 10 (8,769 Views)

Re: Importing ECW files

11-23-2012 10:17 PM in reply to: wingnutrules
AutoCAD doesn't natively read ECWs. If you install the Raster Design object enabler that should do it.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Active Member
v.michl
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-04-2005
Message 3 of 10 (8,765 Views)

Re: Importing ECW files

11-24-2012 09:35 AM in reply to: wingnutrules

Raster image files in the ECW format are natively supported in AutoCAD (since version 2012). Just specify the ECW file in the IMAGEATTACH command. See:

http://www.cadforum.cz/cadforum_en/new-raster-formats-supported-in-autocad-2012-tip7869

 

Vladimir Michl, www.cadstudio.cz 

Contributor
wingnutrules
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
Message 4 of 10 (8,746 Views)

Re: Importing ECW files

11-26-2012 06:51 AM in reply to: wingnutrules

Great! That worked to import it. But, as I said I'm new. My employer said that autocad and the photo itself are smart enough to imort properly according to it's georeferencing data attached to the image and would also automatically scale it. Right now when I imported the photo, it did indeed import but it asked me where I want to place it and what scale factor, two question which I thought it would already know.

 

I just have Autocad 2013. Do I have to have Civil 3D and it's map functionaility to do this?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
vladimir.michl
Posts: 237
Registered: ‎09-17-2006
Message 5 of 10 (8,742 Views)

Re: Importing ECW files

11-26-2012 07:04 AM in reply to: wingnutrules

Georeferenced images are supported in AutoCAD Map 3D, Civil 3D and Raster Design only. But you can try our free utility GeoRefImg to position images according to their gereferencing "world" files (e.g. EWW) in plain AutoCAD - see:

 

http://www.cadstudio.cz/en/apps/georefimg/

and

http://apps.exchange.autodesk.com/CIV3D/Detail/Index?id=appstore.exchange.autodesk.com%3AGeoRefImg%3...

 

Vladimir Michl, www.cadstudio.cz  www.cadforum.cz


Contributor
wingnutrules
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
Message 6 of 10 (8,734 Views)

Re: Importing ECW files

11-26-2012 09:29 AM in reply to: wingnutrules

Great! I installed it. I pasted the folder in my plugins area for Autodesk then reatrted my computer. Once I insert my ECW file I found the GEOREFIMG button under the CAD Studio tab. So I selected it and it tells be to "GEOREFIMG Select image(s) to reposition:" so I selected the image and it appeared to do nothing. Didn't resize it at all.

*Expert Elite*
vladimir.michl
Posts: 237
Registered: ‎09-17-2006
Message 7 of 10 (8,730 Views)

Re: Importing ECW files

11-26-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: wingnutrules

Are there any messages on the command line? Are you sure you have the georeference world files (.EWW) stored with your .ECW files?

 

Vladimir Michl, www.cadstudio.cz  www.cadforum.cz

 


Contributor
wingnutrules
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
Message 8 of 10 (8,728 Views)

Re: Importing ECW files

11-26-2012 09:48 AM in reply to: vladimir.michl

Once I selct the object (map image) to apply the georefimg to and hit enter, the command line says nothing, almost as if Autocad assumes it's done it's job.

 

I've looked in the folder where the ecw file is located and I don't see anything that shows eww as an extension.

 

Thanks for the help. I haven't been able to find any good tutorials on how to understand this stuff. I'm just trying to learn now. Boss handed me these images and said "Here. Learn how to insert this stuff into a cad drawing".

Contributor
wingnutrules
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-19-2012
Message 9 of 10 (8,727 Views)

Re: Importing ECW files

11-26-2012 09:51 AM in reply to: vladimir.michl

Sorry! I just realized how to scroll up in my command line and it did say ">GEOREF - FILE NOT FOUND!"

Is this a flaw in how the supplier of the imagery supplied the photos? Should they have included an eww file as well? I guess my layman's understand wa sthat the image itself contained the data it needed.

*Expert Elite*
vladimir.michl
Posts: 237
Registered: ‎09-17-2006
Message 10 of 10 (8,714 Views)

Re: Importing ECW files

11-26-2012 12:07 PM in reply to: wingnutrules

The problem is that GeoRefImg supports georeferences in separate "world" files (the more usual scenario), not embedded location data stored inside raster files (e.g. in some types of TIFF and ECW).

 

Vladimir Michl, www.cadstudio.cz  www.cadforum.cz


You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube