AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 1 of 10 (532 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to Open 3d studio in autocad

532 Views, 9 Replies
02-27-2013 08:54 AM
I received a set of files from a client with .max extensions. Is it possible to open or import these into AutoCad? I would like to try this before going back to the client and asking for them in a different format. Thanks for any info.
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 10 (527 Views)

Re: How to Open 3d studio in autocad

02-27-2013 09:03 AM in reply to: katie1994

thats specific to 3ds max they you have to export the file to another format autocad can read

i think 3ds max can export to .dwg but don't know how well that will translate

Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 3 of 10 (503 Views)

Re: How to Open 3d studio in autocad

02-27-2013 10:58 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Thanks,found lots of people asking the question but no one seemed to have a definitive answer. 

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,056
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 10 (496 Views)

Re: How to Open 3d studio in autocad

02-27-2013 11:05 AM in reply to: katie1994

Depending on what you are trying to translate, there may not be an answer since 3DSMAX can create infinitely more complex objects than can be displayed in AutoCAD.  Similar to trying to view an electrical schematic from AutoCAD in 3DSMAX - viewing something in a product not designed with that intent doesn't always work.

 

Consider the various solid formats like STL, IGES, as well as plain ol' DXF format.  3D DWF might be an option as well.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,181
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 10 (491 Views)

Re: How to Open 3d studio in autocad

02-27-2013 11:28 AM in reply to: katie1994

You should also indicate why you want this geometry in AutoCAD.

Other than for visual reference it would probably not be of much use.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 6 of 10 (486 Views)

Re: How to Open 3d studio in autocad

02-27-2013 11:46 AM in reply to: JDMather

I just want to be able to print whatever the .max file is showing. Purely for reference. We don't own 3D Studio and I didn't want to admit that to our client yet! They were providing fixture files for our use in planning a space. We do not intend to manipulate or use them in any way. I was hoping there would be a simple download program similar to DesignView we could use.

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 1,924
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 7 of 10 (477 Views)

Re: How to Open 3d studio in autocad

02-27-2013 12:59 PM in reply to: katie1994

Remember that you can download a 30 day trial version -- that ought to be adequate for handling some basic conversion without letting your client know that you don't actually have the software

Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 8 of 10 (476 Views)

Re: How to Open 3d studio in autocad

02-27-2013 01:08 PM in reply to: JGerth

Yes, I did that but it will take some time to learn how to use it. Sigh, I was hoping for a simple shortcut to just look at the files.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,056
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 9 of 10 (464 Views)

Re: How to Open 3d studio in autocad

02-27-2013 02:10 PM in reply to: katie1994

You could try a trial version of Navisworks Simulate... much easier to use.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,181
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 10 of 10 (456 Views)

Re: How to Open 3d studio in autocad

02-27-2013 07:26 PM in reply to: katie1994

katie1994 wrote:

Yes, I did that but it will take some time to learn how to use it. Sigh, I was hoping for a simple shortcut to just look at the files.


Shouldn't take much time to figure out how to save as dwg, dxf, sat or some usable format.
I've never used it, but I suspect their forum should be able to tell you how to save in a different format.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube