AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Valued Contributor
PRSS
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎09-27-2008
Message 1 of 12 (380 Views)
Accepted Solution

How do you manage Ribbon Interface with 16:9 monitor

380 Views, 11 Replies
04-23-2013 11:49 AM

Hello Everybody

Here in India we cannot afford giant size monitors. An average AEC firm would have a 23 inch monitor or 21 inches. Now almost all the monitors are 16:9. So already the height of the monitor is reduced when compared to the 4:3 monitor.
With the Ribbon Interface, the height of the drawing space becomes even less. Of course the ribbon can be minimized etc. but it is a nuisance revoking it and minimizing again. the 2008 version IMHO had a better interface with dashboards which occupied the vertical space on the right side. This way the height of the drawing space is not affected. It used to be a good interface - why change this into Ribbon mimicking MS Office for a CAD program?

I know that you could still have the Classic interface - but you lose the convenience of the ribbon. Frankly, I am a "command line only" person. But I would like to get used to the Ribbon also. Only at this point of time it started to irritate me the small height of the drawing space.

How do you people manage this? By very huge monitors? or may be you are using highly advanced models where you have a choice for a 4:3 format? I am struggling. I would like to use AutoCAD the way the rest of the world uses - though I am very fast in command line and know by heart most of the commands & shortcut keys. Sometimes i work in FullScreen mode.

Thanks in advance
PRSS

Valued Mentor
steven-g
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 2 of 12 (353 Views)

Re: How do you manage Ribbon Interface with 16:9 monitor

04-23-2013 11:29 PM in reply to: PRSS

Wow I'm moving from Belgium  to India :smileyhappy: Only just been upgraded from 19" to 22". Most of my colleagues still have 19. But seriously I would go with turn off the ribbon, I'm a keyboard jockey with occasional use of the menu, the interface changes every so often, but my shortcuts are constant and any specialist commands are kept in collapsible toolpalettes. I wanted to keep my old 19" as a second monitor so I could also dump the toolpalettes and command line onto it. But that had to go to somebody new in the company.

Regards Steven Gray
Setting Out (Joinery Manufacturing)
Autocad 2013LT
Windows 7 professional
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 3 of 12 (347 Views)

Re: How do you manage Ribbon Interface with 16:9 monitor

04-24-2013 12:25 AM in reply to: PRSS

You can use a compromise solution however to get both the ribbon functionality and more drawing area real estate.  Double click on any of the menu tabs (Home, Insert, Annotate, etc) and you'll begin to cycle thru the different types of ribbon displays (4 total).  You can also use the Minimize to Panel Buttons toggle on the far right of the menu line to see the different options.  In several of these configurations you can roll your mouse over the panel to expose the commands that are available.

 

This might be a workable solution while you learn your way around the ribbon interface.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Valued Contributor
PRSS
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎09-27-2008
Message 4 of 12 (343 Views)

Re: How do you manage Ribbon Interface with 16:9 monitor

04-24-2013 01:02 AM in reply to: heinsite

Thank you for the replies. The reason I put this tread was to know whether most of the AutoCAD users in the world are using this ribbon interface. I came across in an article in AUGI - link given by one of our members here in this forum - the article being "Evolve or Die" which amongst other things was stressing on the advantages of using this interface and that one has to evolve from the old ways of doing things.

 

This article made me think that I was becoming obsolete by not using this ribbon interface in spite of  having the latest version of AutoCAD - and still using either full screen mode or the classic mode and typing the commands like I used to do in AutoCAD Release 12.

 

Another curiosity was why AutoCAD should have or mimic the ribbon interface of MS Office - for any CAD, screen real estate - in height also - is important. For 16:9 monitor the dashboard seemed to suit well as it was on the right side in a vertical manner.

 

I know that one can move the docked ribbons to other places - but why default it to its present position - occupying the valuable vertical real estate space?

 

I was also wondering if the rest of the more affluent world used specialized 4:3 monitors - say 22 inches - to avoid losing the vertical real estate space.

 

Thanks in advance

PRSS

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 5 of 12 (333 Views)

Re: How do you manage Ribbon Interface with 16:9 monitor

04-24-2013 02:28 AM in reply to: PRSS

In the end we do want to be as efficient as we can be in AutoCAD.  And while the ribbon is nice and has improved I still find that typing commands on the command line (or right in the drawing window) is really the fastest way to get things done.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Valued Mentor
steven-g
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
Message 6 of 12 (325 Views)

Re: How do you manage Ribbon Interface with 16:9 monitor

04-24-2013 03:48 AM in reply to: PRSS

I think that the development of the ribbon is aimed more at new users, and shifting towards a similar layout to office programs is again just to make it easier for new users to feel comfortable using the program. But I cannot imagine anyone thinking that going from keyboard entry back to menu or ribbon would do anything but slow you down. It's nice to have all the options, you just don't have to use them if you don't want.

Regards Steven Gray
Setting Out (Joinery Manufacturing)
Autocad 2013LT
Windows 7 professional
Valued Contributor
PRSS
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎09-27-2008
Message 7 of 12 (312 Views)

Re: How do you manage Ribbon Interface with 16:9 monitor

04-24-2013 05:25 AM in reply to: steven-g

Thank you Steven-g. You do concurr with my thinking. So I think I should just get to know about ribbon interface - just to keep myself updated - and keep drawing as I have always been doing - full scree & command line.

 

With best regards

PRSS

Valued Mentor
bgingerich
Posts: 276
Registered: ‎08-29-2011
Message 8 of 12 (295 Views)

Re: How do you manage Ribbon Interface with 16:9 monitor

04-24-2013 06:29 AM in reply to: PRSS

FYI  You can right-click on the ribbon, undock it from the top and redock it on the right or left. Not sure if that will help you at all.

 

(if ("mysolution"=answer) then (click "Accept As Solution"))

─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Brandon Gingerich
Distinguished Contributor
greg.battin
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎12-10-2010
Message 9 of 12 (293 Views)

Re: How do you manage Ribbon Interface with 16:9 monitor

04-24-2013 06:29 AM in reply to: PRSS

Try collapsing the ribbon so that you still see the ribbon tabs and panel names. Then when you need to get to a panel, you simply hover over it to expand it.

~Greg

Collapse Ribbon.jpg

Valued Contributor
PRSS
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎09-27-2008
Message 10 of 12 (283 Views)

Re: How do you manage Ribbon Interface with 16:9 monitor

04-24-2013 07:08 AM in reply to: greg.battin
I am over whelmed by your reply ! Thanks a lot !

With best regards
PRSS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube