Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I break each line at an intersection?

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
thstrydom
28895 Views, 6 Replies

How do I break each line at an intersection?

Hello

In Regis you copuld use the "clean"command to break each line at an intersection. What command or function must I use in AutoCad 2013? I wish to break the lines at each intersection in order to import the lines into a GIS application. I am currently drawing in 2D.

Tags (2)
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Patchy
in reply to: thstrydom

Google search, there are quite a few autolisp that will break @ intersections.

Message 3 of 7
thstrydom
in reply to: Patchy

I am quite new to Autocad and do not knwo yet how to use the autolisp functionSmiley Frustrated

Message 4 of 7
Patchy

How to use autolisp:

Unzip the file attached, put it on your desktop, either drag the lisp file and drop it into your drawing area or use command: APPLOAD and load it.

You then have new commands:

myBreak, BreakAll, BreakwObjects, BreakObject, BreakWith, BreakTouching, BreakSelected

(Read the README file in th zip file)

Message 5 of 7
drjohn

@thstrydom wrote:

Hello

In Regis you copuld use the "clean"command to break each line at an intersection. What command or function must I use in AutoCad 2013? I wish to break the lines at each intersection in order to import the lines into a GIS application. I am currently drawing in 2D.

2 ways with OOTB AutoCAD.

1. On the ribbon: HOME > MODIFY > then hover over the icons until it reports BREAK AT POINT (select that) ... type F (read the prompts) .... select the line to break and break it at the INTERSECTION you want.

@2. Command line: BR; [select line to break]; type F; [select intersection to break at]; type in @;

FYI  semicolon = ENTER

That should do it.