AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Member
bmateriale
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-30-2013
Message 1 of 6 (10,813 Views)

HD graphics 4000 vs. P4000

10813 Views, 5 Replies
01-30-2013 08:08 AM

Hello,

 

Need to get a laptop very soon for class, On the Graphics Hardware - Card list of recommendations, for INTEL.  It is posted as HD Graphics P4000.

 

It seems that the new laptop models all have HD Graphic 4000, no P in front of the number.

 

Can one use HD Graphics 4000 to work AutoCAD 2013 or does it specifically need to be P4000?

 

Please advise.

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
edwin.prakoso
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 2 of 6 (10,787 Views)

Re: HD graphics 4000 vs. P4000

01-30-2013 07:51 PM in reply to: bmateriale

According to this thread on Intel forum, there is no difference between those two.

http://communities.intel.com/thread/31444

 

It only indicates HD 4000 is for desktop, and HD P4000 is for Xeon processor.

Kind regards,
Edwin Prakoso | www.cad-notes.com | @CADnotes

If this post solve your issue, please mark this post as solution. It will help others who have the same issue to find solution.
Member
bmateriale
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-30-2013
Message 3 of 6 (10,778 Views)

Re: HD graphics 4000 vs. P4000

01-31-2013 06:12 AM in reply to: edwin.prakoso
There was a new Reply. Subject: Re: HD graphics 4000 vs. P4000 Author: edwin.prakoso (*Expert Elite*) Date: 01-30-2013 07:51 PM According to this thread on Intel forum, there is no difference between those two. http://communities.intel.com/thread/31444 It only indicates HD 4000 is for desktop, and HD P4000 is for Xeon processor. Reply  Just to be sure check this out.../Thanks The laptop specs...Sony Vaio Intel core i5 Dual core processor windows 7 speed 2.5 GHz 6.0 Gigs of Ram high Def screen Graphic is intel 4000//Ram shared with graphics . Is 6 gigs enough Display13.3 in.....1366*768 Is that good enough?
Distinguished Contributor
entropist
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎01-04-2010
Message 4 of 6 (10,768 Views)

Re: HD graphics 4000 vs. P4000

01-31-2013 10:17 AM in reply to: bmateriale

Actually, the HD 4000 and P4000 are only equivalent if looking at i7 cpus or xeons. i5 and i3 cpus get a reduced cache size (6 or 3 respectively, compared to 8 Mb for the P4000).

 

If you're only looking to get through an intro cad course, that laptop is probably fine. However, if you're going to school to learn design (and build a career with it), you may want to look at something more powerful. RAM is relatively cheap don't scrimp there. Also, you may get better performance from even a cheap 'gaming' oriented graphics solution (with dedicated memory). If you're looking at doing 3d work, that laptop is likley not enough.

 

Don't forget the autodesk hardware req's list, here:

hardware requirements

*Expert Elite*
edwin.prakoso
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 5 of 6 (10,754 Views)

Re: HD graphics 4000 vs. P4000

01-31-2013 05:31 PM in reply to: bmateriale

I use one at home. I never have problem with it. But honestly I don't use it for production work.

The only concern I have is the resolution. I think it's too low for serious CAD design.

Kind regards,
Edwin Prakoso | www.cad-notes.com | @CADnotes

If this post solve your issue, please mark this post as solution. It will help others who have the same issue to find solution.
Contributor
AbsKelvin
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Message 6 of 6 (10,718 Views)

Re: HD graphics 4000 vs. P4000

02-04-2013 01:32 PM in reply to: edwin.prakoso

My installation of C3D 2012 with HD Graphics 4000 reports that hardware acceleration is unavailable due to insufficient video memory. ??  Actually that might be a red herring, because the performance tuner doesn't recognize the card at all; just reports "N/A" for the name of device.

 

The laptop has a 3rd gen i7, 8GB RAM and loaded with Win 8 Pro. I installed the latest driver from Intel as a troubleshoot fix; still no hardware accel. 

 

Is hardware acceleration available with the HD 4000?

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube