AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
mgbelectrique
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-29-2005
Message 1 of 6 (545 Views)
Accepted Solution

File tab makes Acad freeze

545 Views, 5 Replies
10-09-2012 10:14 AM

Hi!

I'm using Acad 2013, SP1 installed.  When I try to clic on the file tab, Acad freeze! Tried a repair, a reinstall and still with the same issue.

Do I have to complete a full desinatall / reinstall? I would like to avoid it.

 

Any clue?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,866
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 6 (515 Views)

Re: File tab makes Acad freeze

10-12-2012 12:17 AM in reply to: mgbelectrique

Hi,

 

>> I'm using Acad 2013, SP1 installed

There is an update 1.1 available, the "old one/SP 1" was retired.

 

>> clic on the file tab

Do you have a screenshot to upload? I don't have a "file tab" in AutoCAD 2013.

 

>> Acad freeze

For ever or is it just a few seconds (I saw sometimes a freezing of about 20-30 seconds, thinking about any wrong path-settings or something like that, but not reproducable yet).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,866
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 6 (514 Views)

Re: File tab makes Acad freeze

10-12-2012 01:01 AM in reply to: mgbelectrique

Hi,

 

Do you mean the pulldown menu "File"? (will only appear when MENUBAR is set to one)

If so ==> yes, clicking on this menu-item needs some seconds to open it, I can reproduce that (but it does not hangup forever). I found out that the time to verify the recently-file-list needs a lot of time.

If you set the recently-files to show in that menu-part to a lower value (and restart AutoCAD) the "File"-pulldown menu opens much faster. To set with command _OPTIONS ==> tab "Open and Save":

 

 

BTW: using the new "big-A"-menu is much faster and does not depend on the number of recent-files to show.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,638
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 6 (505 Views)

Re: File tab makes Acad freeze

10-12-2012 05:26 AM in reply to: mgbelectrique

Are you using Windows 7? Turn off it's Aero Theme. Whether you do or not, also change R2013's hardware acceleration from what you have it now (3DCONFIG command) and see if that helps.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
mgbelectrique
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-29-2005
Message 5 of 6 (503 Views)

Re: File tab makes Acad freeze

10-12-2012 05:32 AM in reply to: pendean

Thank you guys!

We encountered difficulties with our Symantec, and I don't know why (don't ask me lol), this was the source of the problem ?!?!  Now my CAD runs perfectly!

 

 

Thanks!

New Member
bumglue
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-12-2013
Message 6 of 6 (289 Views)

Re: File tab makes Acad freeze

07-12-2013 12:51 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

">> Acad freeze

For ever or is it just a few seconds (I saw sometimes a freezing of about 20-30 seconds, thinking about any wrong path-settings or something like that, but not reproducable yet)."

 

Yes, this was the problem for me.  It didn't crash, just hung up for about 10 seconds or so. One of the recent files I had opened was through a wireless network and when I ran CAD away from the network, the problem occurred.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube