AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
erkoriley23
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
Message 1 of 13 (1,129 Views)

Dynamic Text

1129 Views, 12 Replies
08-24-2012 01:14 PM

I'm looking for a way to create dynamic text. I have a rectangle representing a sheet of plywood. I have text in the middle of the sheet that says 4'-0" x 8'-0". If I stretch that sheet I'd like it to update the text showing the new size of the rectangle. Any ideas?

 

Kyle

 

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,208
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 13 (1,125 Views)

Re: Dynamic Text

08-24-2012 01:22 PM in reply to: erkoriley23

It is called FIELD

**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,722
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 3 of 13 (1,124 Views)

Re: Dynamic Text

08-24-2012 01:22 PM in reply to: erkoriley23

Use a FIELD (or multiple fields, in this case).

Active Member
erkoriley23
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
Message 4 of 13 (1,117 Views)

Re: Dynamic Text

08-24-2012 01:50 PM in reply to: erkoriley23

Any idea what the formula needs to be or a good website that explains how to write formulas for fields? I chose Object but don't see where I can choose the x length and y length. There is a length property but that gives me the perimeter length.

 

Kyle

**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,722
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 5 of 13 (1,113 Views)

Re: Dynamic Text

08-24-2012 02:11 PM in reply to: erkoriley23

Yes, the fact you are using a rectangle makes it a little more complicated!

Can you "embed" two more lines (horizontal and vertical), maybe on a "noplot" layer, and link the fields to the length property of these lines?

Another option would be to create a dynamic block, which can also use fields.

Active Member
erkoriley23
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
Message 6 of 13 (1,111 Views)

Re: Dynamic Text

08-24-2012 02:23 PM in reply to: dmfrazier

I’d rather not do lines just in case the line and the object don’t get stretched together. How would the dynamic block work?

 

Kyle

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,208
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 7 of 13 (1,108 Views)

Re: Dynamic Text

08-24-2012 02:32 PM in reply to: erkoriley23

Polyline won't work  for what you need?

Active Member
erkoriley23
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
Message 8 of 13 (1,104 Views)

Re: Dynamic Text

08-24-2012 02:46 PM in reply to: erkoriley23

I need to the display the width and the height.

 

Kyle

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,208
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 9 of 13 (1,098 Views)

Re: Dynamic Text

08-24-2012 03:02 PM in reply to: erkoriley23

Length?

**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,722
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 10 of 13 (1,052 Views)

Re: Dynamic Text

08-27-2012 05:41 AM in reply to: erkoriley23

erkoriley23 wrote:

I’d rather not do lines just in case the line and the object don’t get stretched together.


I thought that if the "extra" horizontal and vertical lines coincided with the corresponding sides of the rectangle it would be difficult to stretch one without stretching the other, even if you prefer grip editing, but I guess the potential is there so I understand your hesitance.


erkoriley23 wrote:

How would the dynamic block work?


 

I think it could be a fairly simple dynamic block, consisting of a rectangle made up of four lines (the polyline rectangle doesn't give you any advantage here) and the mtext with embedded fields linked to the length property of one of the horizontal and one of the vertical lines.  There would be a horizontal and a vertical stretch action for the length and width, and you would probably want the mtext "label" to stay in the center, so there would have to be stretch action(s) for that, too (although you could simplify things by anchoring the text to one corner).

An alternative to this would be to use geometric constraints in the DB.  If there is a relatively finite set of length and width dimensions (or combinations of the two), it might work better to pick them from a list (block properties table) rather than having the user stretch the dimensions.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube