Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dimension Text Angle

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
jkaufmanBASX
595 Views, 5 Replies

Dimension Text Angle

I would like to create a command in the Annotate menu that will turn dimensioning text 90 degrees or back to 0 degrees depending on what degrees it is currently at.  I am struggling with finding a dim variable or system variable that stores the current angle.  I am just learning how to write macros and applying them to the menu with the CUI.  Any help would be appreciated greatly.  I have explored the following macro with what I could gleen online.

^c^c\dimedit;rotate;$m=$(if(=90 0)(90));

Or something like that.

Thanks for your help.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
drjohn
in reply to: jkaufmanBASX

Might be easier just to define a dimstyle exactly like the current one except the text is rotated and change the ones you want to that style rather than trying to turn them programatically.  Finding a pivot point might be difficult.

2 cents

Regards,

DJ

Message 3 of 6
jkaufmanBASX
in reply to: drjohn

I am good with that idea - I was able to rotate the text when I right click on the dimension and go to properties but could not find a way to rotate the text through the dimstyle command where I would create the new dimstyle. Suggestions?
Message 4 of 6
jkaufmanBASX

Also - Dim Styles only follow the drawing.  I am hoping to create this as a menu item that will be usable from drawing to drawing without importing styles each time.

Thanks

Message 5 of 6
scot-65

Look into overrides instead of actually creating a unique dimension style. The format would go something like this for existing objects
(setvar SOMEDIMVARIABLE somevalue) -or- (command ".dim" somedimvariable somevalue "")
command DIMSTYLE "apply" and select the object.
(command ".dim" "Restore" [MyDimstyle] "Exit")
For creating new objects is similar.
conceptual.

Scot-65