Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cleaning up a very old drawing (layers/blocks and the likes)

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Millehuse
1009 Views, 6 Replies

Cleaning up a very old drawing (layers/blocks and the likes)

Hi

My knowledge of AutoCad in general can fit on 1 layer max - I've only been on a single course and I've worked very little with the program in the past. I have 3-4 years of experience in other programs (Inventor, PC Schematics etc) - so while I'm not completely new in the field, I'm stomped my AutoCad's "complexity".

I've inherited a rather old drawing - which geometrically is very simple. 2D schematic buildings, wells, pipes etc of the layout on our factory.

The drawing (as far as I can tell with my knowledge) used to consist of a "main" drawing with 3-4 xrefs. These have been "bound" on a later date, and the layers have been tidied up a bit. 

The problem I have now, is I need to tidy up the drawing a fair bit more, and there are several layers that seem empty, but that cannot be deleted or purged. I assume it's because of block references or the likes.

We have semi-annual updates to this drawing, from a firm on the outside. They will send us a new drawing, that is xrefffed then bound into the main drawing. 

This means that now I have

4 layers called something like this:

Tag-name

Tag-name-

Tag-name_

Tag-name__

As far as I can tell, these layers are used within blocks as attributes. Is there an easy way to merge these layers (or attributes)?

The drawing has tons and tons of blocks ... with 4-5 attributes in each - which means loads of clutter and it's a royal pain trying to make the different layouts. It really adds up. I've managed to merge/purge some of the layers, but the ones that has attribute references within them, really stomp me.