AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
karla_jones
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Message 1 of 13 (1,168 Views)

Cannot import dwg files into AutoCad 2013

1168 Views, 12 Replies
12-09-2012 10:14 AM

Hello,

 

I just downloaded AutoCad Architecture 2013 and I am having trouble importing DWG files. When I select the file nothing happens. I had AutoCad 2012 for Mac and it worked fine. I switched to 2013 for PC via Parallels on my iMac because I was told that the PC version was better than Mac.

 

Please help!

 

Thanks,

Karla

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,880
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 13 (1,161 Views)

Re: Cannot import dwg files into AutoCad 2013

12-09-2012 10:21 AM in reply to: karla_jones

Hi,

 

>> importing DWG files. When I select the file

What command do you use?

Have you tried different source-drawings (drawings to be imported) and also different destination drawings (drawings where you want to place them).

 

When you look to the command-line, what does it tell you during the command-execution?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
karla_jones
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Message 3 of 13 (1,157 Views)

Re: Cannot import dwg files into AutoCad 2013

12-09-2012 10:26 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

No, I am trying to import dwg furniture files. The command I use is _IMPORT or I select the Import icon. The files appear, then I click open. Nothing happens and I do not see anything in the command line. It's almos as if I didnt select anything.

Active Member
karla_jones
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Message 4 of 13 (1,157 Views)

Re: Cannot import dwg files into AutoCad 2013

12-09-2012 10:27 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I mean to add that I am still new at AutoCad so I might be missing something :smileyindifferent:

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,880
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 13 (1,153 Views)

Re: Cannot import dwg files into AutoCad 2013

12-09-2012 10:32 AM in reply to: karla_jones

Hi,

 

>> The command I use is _IMPORT

When I use command _IMPORT I can't select any DWG-files! Look to the list of filetypes I can select during command _IMPORT. Make a screenshot from your dialog and file-options (just to make sure for me that ACA does not work differnent to plain AutoCAD with this command).

 

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
karla_jones
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Message 6 of 13 (1,145 Views)

Re: Cannot import dwg files into AutoCad 2013

12-09-2012 10:53 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

The DWG files appear as if I can select and import them. Here is a screenshot of what I see. The objects you see in the drawing were already there before I opened this file in the 2013 version.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,880
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 13 (1,135 Views)

Re: Cannot import dwg files into AutoCad 2013

12-09-2012 11:03 AM in reply to: karla_jones

Hi,

 

am I right that this is not the _IMPORT command, but instead it is the _INSERT command? If you really tried _IMPORT then I would undertand it's not working, in that case how does _INSERT work?

 

Also when you selected one DWG-file and clicked onto button "OPEN" ==> what does your commandline show up? Press <F2> to get the long version of the text-window and let us know, what's in there.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
karla_jones
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Message 8 of 13 (1,133 Views)

Re: Cannot import dwg files into AutoCad 2013

12-09-2012 11:17 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

When I select INSERT-->OPEN--> I get an invalid response in the command line. (see screenshot 1) I tried inserting objects already in the dropdown menu sucha s "chair" but it appears extremely large (see screenshots  2 & 3)

Active Member
karla_jones
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Message 9 of 13 (1,131 Views)

Re: Cannot import dwg files into AutoCad 2013

12-09-2012 11:18 AM in reply to: karla_jones

Also note, this CAD drawing was existing. I am workin on this for a class project. Everything in it was done with the exception of the coffee bar and chairs.

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,880
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 10 of 13 (1,128 Views)

Re: Cannot import dwg files into AutoCad 2013

12-09-2012 11:23 AM in reply to: karla_jones

Hi,

 

>> When I select INSERT-->OPEN--> I get an invalid response in the command line. (see screenshot 1) 

>> I tried inserting objects already in the dropdown menu sucha s "chair" but it appears extremely large

You didn't finish the insert as AutoCAD is asking you to show the insertion point (in your screenshot 3/command-line)

 

- alfred -

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube