AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
sebguy
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Message 1 of 12 (442 Views)

Can Autodesk fillet edges faster than Rhino

442 Views, 11 Replies
04-23-2013 11:46 AM

Hello all,

 

I use Rhino to make pendant models but I find that Rhino's fillet function very slow and inefficient, so I'd like to know if Autodesk would be better at doing that.

 
My main problem is that I have very little time to do this, so I'm looking for the fastest way to round the outer edges of my designs. 
Ideally, I would need a sort of "fillet all selected edges to the maximum radius" function.
Right now I have to manually correct all the different edges with the proper radius (which I must guess), and it takes too much time.
Here are 4 images to explain.
 
1. This is the kind of shape I work with (letter combinations). I import it from Illustrator
Inline image 1
 
2. From that I extrude a solid, but I want it to have round edges.
Inline image 2
 
3. This image shows where the problem is. Even if I correct each radius in the preview the result is pretty bad.
Inline image 3
 
4. This image shows another problem
Inline image 1
 
Please let me know if Autodesk would handle this better.
 
Thanks
Seb

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,157
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 12 (432 Views)

Re: Can Autodesk fillet edges faster than Rhino

04-23-2013 12:11 PM in reply to: sebguy

sebguy wrote:

 

Please let me know if Autodesk would handle this better.
 
Thanks
Seb

 


Autodesk is a company.  Are you looking for information on a particular Autodesk company product? If so, which one? AutoCAD? Inventor? 3D Studio? Fusion 360?  (many others)

  

I don't see any attachments.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
sebguy
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Message 3 of 12 (418 Views)

Re: Can Autocad fillet edges faster than Rhino

04-23-2013 12:36 PM in reply to: JDMather

I meant Autocad... But I'm not even sure, maybe 3Ds Max is what I should be inquiring about

I haven't attached a file because I don't even know if Autocad can open .3dm files

 

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,157
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 12 (406 Views)

Re: Can Autocad fillet edges faster than Rhino

04-23-2013 01:19 PM in reply to: sebguy

sebguy wrote:

I meant Autocad... But I'm not even sure, maybe 3Ds Max is what I should be inquiring about

I haven't attached a file because I don't even know if Autocad can open .3dm files

  


I was referring to the 4 image files.
I don't see them, do you?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
sebguy
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Message 5 of 12 (381 Views)

Re: Can Autocad fillet edges faster than Rhino

04-23-2013 09:14 PM in reply to: JDMather
1. This is the kind of shape I work with (letter combinations). I import it from Illustrator
bbbcapture.jpg
 
2. From that I extrude a solid, but I want it to have round edges.
bbbcapture1.jpg
 
3. This image shows where the problem is. Even if I correct each radius in the preview the result is pretty bad.
bbbFilletText.jpg
 
4. This image shows another problem
bbbFilletText2.jpg
 
Please let me know if Autocad would handle this better.
 
Thanks
Seb
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,157
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 12 (364 Views)

Re: Can Autocad fillet edges faster than Rhino

04-24-2013 03:18 AM in reply to: sebguy

I would use the Illustrator geometry only for reference and recreate the geometry as primitive arcs and lines (with tangence where implied).

 

I would use a tool like Autodesk Inventor (or Maybe Autodesk Fusion 360) with Full Round and Face Fillets in addition to Edge Fillets. And Variable Radius Fillets if appropriate.

 

AutoCAD only has edge type fillets.

 

Are you trying to make "pretty pictures" or munufacturable geometry"?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
sebguy
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Message 7 of 12 (363 Views)

Re: Can Autocad fillet edges faster than Rhino

04-24-2013 03:18 AM in reply to: sebguy

I think I just saw a reply by someone talking about a possible solution with Photoshop but the post has disappeared..

 

Active Member
sebguy
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Message 8 of 12 (358 Views)

Re: Can Autocad fillet edges faster than Rhino

04-24-2013 03:21 AM in reply to: JDMather

I'm sure that would be the proper way to do it, but one of my main priorities is speed and that solution would probably take quite a lot of time

This is for wax printing, I cast these into jewelry

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 877
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 9 of 12 (348 Views)

Re: Can Autocad fillet edges faster than Rhino

04-24-2013 03:52 AM in reply to: sebguy

sebguy wrote:

I think I just saw a reply by someone talking about a possible solution with Photoshop but the post has disappeared..

 


That would have been me.  :smileytongue:  But I pulled it on second thought because I'm not sure either Photoshop or Illustrator can export to a format AutoCAD or any of the other Autodesk solutions can use. 

 

There's no question that if you wanted simply to illustrate this it could all be done to the OP's liking entirely within Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop Extended.  And for help with that I'd defer to experts like Corey Barker and others at NAPP.  But if the purpose is to build a vector model for actual fabrication the solutions pretty much might need to stay in Autodesk territory.

 

2 cents for what it's worth.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Active Member
sebguy
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Message 10 of 12 (339 Views)

Re: Can Autocad fillet edges faster than Rhino

04-24-2013 04:10 AM in reply to: heinsite

Well I don't own Autocad so I was just inquiring to see if any Autodesk software could do this better than Rhino.

If there is a simpler way using Photoshop I'm definitely interested and I've actually sent a message to Corey Barker on his website (since th Napp one doesn't have a forum)

I don't know if Photoshop can export in stl though.

I'll see if he answers

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube