AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Member
Pincince1
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-02-2012
Message 1 of 5 (506 Views)

CONVERT AUTOCAD 2013 FABRICATION TO REVIT MEP 2012

506 Views, 4 Replies
01-02-2013 01:46 PM

Working a Bim Project. I was using Revit MEP 2012, HVAC was using AutoCAD Fabrication 2012 and General Contractor was using NAVISWORKS 2012. HVAC upgraded to 2013 mid project which has us screwed. General Contractor upgraded to 2013 to accommodate HVAC but cannot convert HVAC to Revit 2012 for my use anymore.  Anyone know a work around? I need to HVAC model in my model to get my work done the most efficient way possible.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,810
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 5 (491 Views)

Re: CONVERT AUTOCAD 2013 FABRICATION TO REVIT MEP 2012

01-02-2013 05:10 PM in reply to: Pincince1
REVIT has no ability to save down. By design.
No workaround. That's why everyone on the team needs to be on the same exact version all the time. No exceptions. You are out of luck.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
Pincince1
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-02-2012
Message 3 of 5 (484 Views)

Re: CONVERT AUTOCAD 2013 FABRICATION TO REVIT MEP 2012

01-02-2013 06:35 PM in reply to: pendean

Thanks for the info. Not happy with reply but that is life. I guess I need to keep 2012 on my machine when I upgrade to 13 in case my next project group is all on 2012.  Talk about eating storage. Let that be a lesson to every BIM person. Make sure everyone on project knows and agrees not to do an upgrade mid-project!!!!

New Member
kstokes95
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-16-2013
Message 4 of 5 (421 Views)

Re: CONVERT AUTOCAD 2013 FABRICATION TO REVIT MEP 2012

01-16-2013 07:15 AM in reply to: Pincince1

When everyone was on 2012 how were you bringing in the fabrication models into Revit? we are trying to do the same thing

Member
Pincince1
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-02-2012
Message 5 of 5 (411 Views)

Re: CONVERT AUTOCAD 2013 FABRICATION TO REVIT MEP 2012

01-16-2013 09:26 AM in reply to: Pincince1

The BIM Coordinator said something about exporting to an .ifc file. Not sure what it is all about but will be looking into it myself to see how it works for the future.

 

I have since upgraded to 2013 but still cannot get the file converted. They are working on it. The last converted file I received from them was 467,176 kb (once it was converted to Revit) and this one is even larger so we are thinking that the file is just too big to convert.

 

Anyone out there have a suggestion?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube