AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Valued Mentor
sthompson1021
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 1 of 8 (270 Views)

CHANGESPACE command and MTEXT

270 Views, 7 Replies
08-22-2013 12:30 PM

Hi all, I used the CHANGESPACE command today to bring a piece of mtext from model space to paper space. I had a background mask on the mtext and when it came into paper space, the height of the text box displayed right but the width stayed the same as it was in model space. I played around with column settings and also the WYSIWYG in editor settings. Nothing seemed to make difference. What am I missing? Using autocad 2014

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 8 (253 Views)

Re: CHANGESPACE command and MTEXT

08-22-2013 01:51 PM in reply to: sthompson1021
CHSPACE command?
Can you recreate the problem in any other file? in a new empty file, then post it here for others to try?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Mentor
sthompson1021
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 3 of 8 (238 Views)

Re: CHANGESPACE command and MTEXT

08-22-2013 02:15 PM in reply to: pendean

Yes sorry, CHSPACE command. Here's a WBLOCK portion of the dwg I'm working on. The layout shows what happened when I moved the MTEXT to paper space. I left another one for you to try.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,866
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 8 (208 Views)

Re: CHANGESPACE command and MTEXT

08-23-2013 12:35 AM in reply to: sthompson1021

Hi,

 

sorry to say, it's just to commit that I can reproduce that with AutoCAD 2014, with a new drawing.

All is recalculated correct (position, height, ...) but not the property "Design width".

 

I didn't find a solution or workaround to get that automatically done yet.

==> forward that to AutoCAD please.

 

Sorry, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 8 (194 Views)

Re: CHANGESPACE command and MTEXT

08-23-2013 05:58 AM in reply to: sthompson1021

All your MTEXT have "dynamic columns" turned on (you don't use columns in any of the text samples in the file).
Turning off columns through properties stopped the problem.

 

PROPERTIES will let you fix all your existing mtext objects all at once: to fix it permanently, start MTEXT, turn off columns, type a few words then exit MTEXT gracefully. It stays off until you turn it back on again (and recreate the problem).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Mentor
sthompson1021
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 6 of 8 (183 Views)

Re: CHANGESPACE command and MTEXT

08-23-2013 08:41 AM in reply to: sthompson1021

Ok, I found that out yesterday, but I messed around a little more and discovered that if you have 2 static columns in model space and move them to paper space, the second column dissapears. Try the attached dwg.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 8 (179 Views)

Re: CHANGESPACE command and MTEXT

08-23-2013 09:06 AM in reply to: sthompson1021
No columns or no chspace I'm afraid are you only choices, sorry if I did not make that clear in my first reply.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Mentor
sthompson1021
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 8 of 8 (175 Views)

Re: CHANGESPACE command and MTEXT

08-23-2013 09:27 AM in reply to: pendean

I see that now, not something I use very often so not a big deal. I just wanted someone eles to verify that I wasn't seeing things:smileyvery-happy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube