Did you mean: 

Automatic plot macro

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
cncah
1892 Views, 8 Replies

Automatic plot macro

I am needing a macro for automatically plotting multiple models that are in the same dwg file. I am including the dwg file, because it will be hard to explain exactly what the models are. Basically it is a dwg file of some nested sheets to run on a cnc router. I wrote a macro that will allow me to manually window each "nest" and send that to the printer, then repeat until I'm finished. I could set what dimensions I needed for each window, but each time I nest out a job, the number of nests varies. What I am wondering, is there a way to have the autocad "look" at the overall number of nests  in the model and window the nest, center that in the paper that prints out, then move onto the next one until it has plotted all of the nests? I am new to writing macros, and have absolutely no understanding of lisp or vba. Also, here is the macro I wrote for manually windowing the plot. If there is a way to set the window dimensions, then offset those dimensions in the Y axis a certain number of times that would still be easier than what I've been doing. Any help is appreciated. Even if the advice is telling me that I'm S.O.L. Thanks in advance.

*^C^C-plot;yes;;;;;;;w;\\fit;;yes;;;;;;y;

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
dmfrazier
in reply to: cncah

"Any help is appreciated. Even if the advice is telling me that I'm S.O.L."

Well, I would never tell you that (as practically anything you can do manually can be automated), but I'm afraid the work that would be required is way out of scale, especially considering there is already a built-in way to do this.

It sure looks like this would be a lot easier if you set up a Layout tab for each "sheet" in the model and use PUBLISH to "batch" plot them!  Is this not an option for some reason?

Message 3 of 9
cncah
in reply to: dmfrazier