Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Autodesk Discontinuing Upgrades

14 REPLIES 14
Message 1 of 15
stevev0983
562 Views, 14 Replies

Autodesk Discontinuing Upgrades

This company never ceases to amaze me in it's ability to give the middle finger to the consumer:

http://knowledge.autodesk.com/search-result/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/Frequently-Asked-Question...

So basically, if you are not currently on subscription, you have to hurry and upgrade to 2015 with subscription or pay full retail if you ever want a new version because they will no longer offer upgrades. I had a subscription from 2007 to 2013 and decided it was never worth it because getting a version of Autocad that actually works correctly was few and far between. I have been using it since Release 9 in 1988 and can honestly say there were only 3 versions that worked really well (IMO) and those were R14, 2007 and 2013. Once I realized that 2013 worked for me, I quit the subscription. Now I will either be forced into one or have to pay full retail whenever I want a new version. I had always held the belief that Comcast was the worst company I've ever dealt with, but Autodesk finally surpassed them.

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
p_mcknight
in reply to: stevev0983

AT&T

Message 3 of 15
pendean

Err, Autidesk announced this a year ago... Just get the email today?

Most other professional CAD software is now subscription only, as are most non-AutoCAD offerings from Autodesk, plus most business tools and pro-grade accounting packages, the soon to be only way to get MSOffice from Microsoft, to name but a few. Now walk over and ask your IT group about all of their subscriptions that you never hear about.

Sad change but the writing was on the wall for some time.

I nominate CBEYOND as the worst company for treating customers.
Message 4 of 15
stevev0983
in reply to: pendean