AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jgood
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎04-07-2004
Message 1 of 6 (215 Views)

Autocad instalation/ computers

215 Views, 5 Replies
03-07-2013 12:00 PM

Once again the question has been raised again. Please can an Autodesk represenitive please give me a final answer? Here is the question, IS IT LEGAL to have a copy of your employers’ autocad on your personal home computer AS LONG AS it is for doing work at home and no one is using your computer at work?????????

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,078
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 6 (212 Views)

Re: Autocad instalation/ computers

03-07-2013 12:08 PM in reply to: jgood

Read the EULA and optionally the T&C of your subscription agreement, if applicable.

The answer may vary depending on certain factors, so you'll have to read and decide based on your situation.

 

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,035
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 3 of 6 (196 Views)

Re: Autocad instalation/ computers

03-07-2013 01:14 PM in reply to: rkmcswain

And subject to the company's policy - if they say "No, we don't allow that." then legality becomes irrelevant.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Valued Contributor
autocad.phil
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎01-22-2010
Message 4 of 6 (180 Views)

Re: Autocad instalation/ computers

03-07-2013 04:53 PM in reply to: jgood

http://images.autodesk.com/adsk/files/autocad_2013_faq_en.pdf
Item 5.3 on page 8 ... definitely a "no" answer unless the company owns the computer you use at home. 

(i am definitely not an autodesk employee... i have fries on my avatar/picture!:smileyhappy:)

--
Autodesk Product Design Suite Standard 2014 with subscription to 2016 | AutoCAD WS | was ACLT 2000, ACLT 2010, PRDSS 2013 and others
Distinguished Contributor
jgood
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎04-07-2004
Message 5 of 6 (174 Views)

Re: Autocad instalation/ computers

03-07-2013 05:02 PM in reply to: jgood
Actually i found a part some where in the license agreement that said you could put a copy of it on your personal pc as long as it was for work for that specific com:smileytongue:any that owns it and that you are the only one that uses it and also only use it for work for that company and no moon lighting
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,078
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 6 (155 Views)

Re: Autocad instalation/ computers

03-08-2013 04:59 AM in reply to: autocad.phil

 

The 2013 EULA does not say the other computer must be owned by the licensee (for standalone licenses). I think it used to specify this in the past.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube