AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 582
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 1 of 7 (1,058 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

1058 Views, 6 Replies
03-24-2014 08:45 AM

The system variable for the new Create/Learn tab that loads at startup is NEWTABMODE (0 = off; 1 = on)

The system variable for the new highlight visual representation is HIGHLIGHT (0 = off; 1 = on)

Others can add other new variables below as they come across them.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,784
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (1,015 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

03-24-2014 10:37 AM in reply to: nrz13

Highlight is the same as older versions: was there a functionality you meant to identify as well?

Tap HELP in 2015, on the homepage under Resources is a list of New, Updated and Obsolete commands and system variables in 2015.

Look up the new LINESMOOTHING, new in 2015: nice visual 'fix' added, I like it.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 582
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 3 of 7 (1,010 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

03-24-2014 10:47 AM in reply to: pendean

Ha ha, I didn't notice the "New Commands and System Variables" even though it was right below the "System Variables" link I clicked on.  Sorry, I don't normally use the built-in help.  Usually I just do a Google search for what I want, but since no one has released documentation for it yet, I couldn't do it that way this time.

When was the HIGHLIGHT command introduced?  I had never seen that before.  It must have been off by default for my previous installs???


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,784
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 7 (1,004 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

03-24-2014 10:53 AM in reply to: nrz13
HIGHLIGHT has been around forever.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 582
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 5 of 7 (999 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

03-24-2014 10:58 AM in reply to: pendean

Is it just that it looks different in 2015?  I don't have a previous install anymore to compare it to.  When I turn Highlight off it looks odd to me, but I can't figure out why exactly.  It definitely never used to add a blue border to everything for me.

Edit:  It used to dash selected items in


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP1, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,784
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 7 (991 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

03-24-2014 11:08 AM in reply to: nrz13
That 'blue edging' to objects is new to 2015: in 2014 and older, ther was no blue 'edge' to everything, it just 'ghosted' in appearance.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
cad-pe
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎06-30-2008
Message 7 of 7 (625 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

03-29-2014 08:55 PM in reply to: nrz13

Yes, HIGHLIGHT has been around since atleast Release 9 or before.

 

However, the programmers at Autodesk were showing off their programming skills for the "blue-ish" highlight. To turn-off the "blue-ish" highlight, use SELECTIONEFFECT = 0.

 

The programmers at Autodesk at time seem to have no sense of the notion of "keep it simple" to aid in production speed.

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube