Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD 2015 Crashing & Bogged Down

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
vbsbchic
1769 Views, 11 Replies

AutoCAD 2015 Crashing & Bogged Down

I have been working with the free trial for a few days now, and every time upon closing a file, the program crashes. Has anyone experienced this? And if so, will the bug be fixed by the time the subscription update comes out?

Also, I have been working with version 2008 for the last 7 years (I know, I know...get with the times, right?), so I'm trying to get up to speed with what new features there are. Again, after working with 2015 for a few days, it seems as though the program has so many "upgrades" that it is getting bogged down, and I am not able to draft as quickly. What settings can I change so that the program can keep up with my fingers? I have already turned off the hatch preview and command preview, and that has helped greatly, but I'm sure that there are more things I can turn off.

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
nrz13
in reply to: vbsbchic

I'm not experiencing any crashes, but the system performance has definitely suffered with the graphics changes they made in 2015.  Supposedly, AMD will have updated drivers supporting AutoCAD 2015 by the end of this month.  I expect NVIDIA is in a similar situation of doing quality assurance on updated drivers for AutoCAD 2015 as well.

This was posted a few years back -- I imagine they still apply for 2015:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2013-2014-2015/Looking-to-speed-up-AutoCAD-2013-Try-this/td-p/...

Search these forums and Google and you'll find all sorts of ways to speed things up.  However, if your computer is 7+ years old as well, it may be time to spring for some new hardware.  Meeting AutoCAD's minimum or recommended system specs won't make things snappy for you.

Work:  AutoCAD 2022.1.3, Windows 10 Pro v22H2 64-bit, Intel Core i7-8700K, 32GB RAM, Samsung 960 Pro SSD, AMD Radeon Pro WX 5100, 3 Dell Monitors (3840x2160)