AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
EliseB
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-13-2014
Message 1 of 12 (694 Views)

AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

694 Views, 11 Replies
02-13-2014 04:55 PM

Our firm just made the switch from AutoCAD 2008 to AutoCAD 2014.  We are looking for a way to make the Ribbon behave more like Dashboards did.  Specifically, a way to expand and contract the panels vertically (rather than horizontally).  I found a blog here showing exactly what we would like to accomplish (but in AutoCAD 2009). Is this still possible in AutoCAD 2014? And if so, how do I achieve this?

 

Thank you so much for your help!

Elise

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,963
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 12 (679 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-15-2014 08:14 AM in reply to: EliseB

Hi,

 

you can dock the ribbon also left/right like shown >>>here<<<.

But I would not recommend that as it needs a lot of space more than on the top position.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,155
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 12 (675 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-15-2014 09:36 AM in reply to: EliseB
Alfred, on a wide screen monitor the loss of screen real estate is less of a problem when the ribbon is docked to the side rather than the top.
Side placement of the Ribbon actually makes a lot more sense.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,963
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 12 (670 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-15-2014 10:33 AM in reply to: pendean

Hi,

 

>> Side placement of the Ribbon actually makes a lot more sense.

Except of the mass of unused space ... there might be icons if you modify the complete menu-structure, but for default AutoCAD-menu it's unused space.

 

...and so everyone sees different pro's and con's :smileywink:

 

2014-02-15 19-28-59.png

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,155
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 12 (662 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-15-2014 12:00 PM in reply to: EliseB
I take it you never used the 2008's Dashboard :smileyhappy:

I got the impression the OP wasn't going to be satisfied with OOTB CUIX menu: your concerns can be addressed well enough that way.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,029
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 6 of 12 (632 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-17-2014 08:30 AM in reply to: pendean

I had forgotten about the dashboard! Was that like a one year thing?

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,525
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 12 (621 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-17-2014 09:51 AM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

Bob_Zurunkle wrote:

I had forgotten about the dashboard! Was that like a one year thing?


Well, it was introduced in r2007.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,588
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 8 of 12 (618 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-17-2014 09:56 AM in reply to: EliseB
Right click over the Ribbon and pick undock. Drag it to the side to dock it, adjust the size to your taste.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Active Member
EliseB
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-13-2014
Message 9 of 12 (585 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-18-2014 08:28 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

It is not so much being able to physically MOVE the Ribbon from the top to the side (I understand you can drag and drop it)....I am trying to figure out a way (once I've moved the Ribbon to the side of my screen) to have the panels slide down vertically instead of slide out horizontally when I click on them.  It takes up valuable space within the drawing if everytime I click a panel it expands into my workspace.  Here is the link to what I am trying to achieve.

 

Again, thank you so much for your patience and help!

Elise

Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 10 of 12 (563 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-18-2014 01:21 PM in reply to: EliseB

EliseB wrote:

It is not so much being able to physically MOVE the Ribbon from the top to the side (I understand you can drag and drop it)....I am trying to figure out a way (once I've moved the Ribbon to the side of my screen) to have the panels slide down vertically instead of slide out horizontally when I click on them.  It takes up valuable space within the drawing if everytime I click a panel it expands into my workspace.  Here is the link to what I am trying to achieve.

 

Again, thank you so much for your patience and help!

Elise


That's a pretty neat way to use the Ribbon. I never messed with the ribbon back in 2009, so I wasn't aware that it could have been used that way. I've always hated how the ribbon system works with being horizontal, even though screens aren't increasing vertically. If this could be achieved again with 2014 that'd be awesome!

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Civil 3D 2014 x64
Testing IDSP 2015
Windows 7 64-bit
6GB RAM
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.